Summit E.T. Racing Series - June 26

Mike Gwynn - Top Street Shootout

Gwynn Tops Davis in Top Street No-Time Shootout

June 26 - Another scorcher for the second straight week, but it sure beats the rainouts! We posted our second Summit Racing E.T. Series event on Sunday that was highlighted with the return of the exciting Top Street, No-Time 1/8th mile shootout.  Here's how the final rounds shook out and the boxscores below.

Top Street No-Time Shootout
The No-Time Top Street Shootout now in its second season has a pretty simple rules package; registration, insurance, plates and whatever necessary safety equipment that is required. It's an 1/8 mile, Pro tree, heads-up race and this year's version did not disappoint anyone. All the racers were able to get hooked up and they put on a great show.

The saying that goes "run what you brung and hope you brung enough" surely played a factor in this year's race as Mike Gwynn brought his '66 Chevelle with a monster 700+ cubic inch big block Chevrolet to the party and won it all when he defeated Fred Davis in his 540 c.i. '72 Camaro. Both cars are nitrous assisted and in the final Mike held a .129 to .197 starting line advantage and never looked back taking the $1,000 payoff for his efforts. Fred had to settle for the runner-up spot for the second straight year which is a great feat in itself considering the quality of the cars in this year's race. Mike stopped last year's champ Jim Bersani in the semi's and Fred defeated Jared Luhr. If you enjoy this type of racing be sure to be here October 2nd when The Syracuse Outlaws do battle against The Outlaws from Buffalo in another 1/8 mile heads up race.

Mark Talmadge - Super Pro

Super Pro
Super Pro racing saw Mark Talmadge drive his trusty '75 Vega to the win stopping Vince Musolino who was driving his '13 American dragster. Mark got off the line first with his .011 reaction time and ran a 9.517 at 139.68 mph on his 9.49 dial making Vince settle for his second straight runner-up finish. Vince had a .029 light and ran under his 7.16 prediction with a 7.154 at 181.37 mph effort. Tim Roberts was the semifinalist losing in a nearly dead heat to Vince with a .0000 differential. (photo pulled off Facebook)

Musolino/Roberts Super Pro Semi

Mike LaRose - Pro

Mike LaRose made his way into the Pro winners circle in his Dodge Dart stopping Eric Sadowski who was in his '70 Challenger. The reaction times were close with Eric holding a slight .052 to .059 advantage and both drivers ran under their respective dial-ins, but Eric ran further under with a 10.592 at 122.94 mph on his 10.63 dial allowing Mike to win with his less offensive 10.277 at 128.55 mph run on his 10.29 dial. Tony Arcadi was the lone semifinalist.

Bob Salerno - Pro MX

Pro MX
Pro MX action came down to a pair of riders on their Ski-doo race sleds. Bob Salerno was on his '06 800cc machine and Heath Smith was on his '03 1000cc ride. After nearly identical reaction times, .085 to .088 in Bob's favor, he was able to win with his 9.893 at 123.98 mph run on his 9.86 dial-in. Heath ran under his 8.70 dial with a very close 8.692 at 140.14 mph run on his 8.70. Brian Moulton lost in the semi's on his '77 Kawasaki.

Street Money
Street Money racing saw pit spot neighbors Steve English in his '82 Cutlass take on Bill Coon driving his '84 Camaro. Bill held a .054 to .086 starting line advantage, but fell way off his 14.91 dial-in with an off pace 15.692 at 83.15 mph effort. Steve won with his 12.968 at 89.64 mph run on his 12.60 dial. Todd Minerd lost in the semi's.

Becca Searles - Modified

Becca Searles in her '86 Mustang got back into the Modified winner circle when she stopped Kim Rogge in her '73 Duster. Kim had a rather large .039 to .100 r.t. advantage, but she threw it away running under her 10.40 dial with an oh-so-close 10.397 at 127.08 mph runner-up effort. Becca grabbed the win with her 10.945 at 119.73 mph run on her 10.91 dial. Myles Higby lost to Becca in the semi's.

Brian Mahler - Street Trophy

Street Trophy
The Street Trophy title went to Brian Mahler today driving his sharp looking '05 Grand Am stopping Kurt Hagen in his equally impressive orange 2011 Camaro. Brian had a great .027 light and ran a 16.060 at 83.29 mph on his 15.99 dial-in to defeat Kurt who could only muster a .151 r.t. and ran a 12.841 at 108.89 on his 12.82 dial. Adam Carlson was the semifinalist.

Slaven Peric - Bike/Sled Trophy

Bike/Sled Trophy
Slaven Peric rode his '13 Kawasaki to the Bike/Sled Trophy win defeating Sudsy Eastman on his '01 Ski-doo. Sudsy had a large reaction time advantage .028 to .109, but he ran off his 9.87 dial-in with a 10.031 at 120.05 mph to allow Slaven to grab the win with his 9.217 at 135.10 mph run on his 9.15 dial. Kevin Wuest was the lone semifinalist.

Abby Hacker - Jr. Dragster

Jr. Dragster
Abby Hacker won the Jr. Dragster class today defeating a red lighting Daniel Thorpe. Abby had a safe .194 light and ran a 7.933 at 82.24 mph on her 7.94 dial-in. Danny had some difficulty staging due to a damaged front nose on his car causing him to foul with a -.086 light. Danny ran a 9.183 at 71.29 mph on his 8.92 dial. Alexis Collins and Jimmy O'Toole were the semifinalists.

That wraps it up for the action on June 26th, we'll see you next Sunday.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.
Winner Circle photos by Vicki Hopper


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Mark Talmadge '75 Vega .011 9.517, 139.68 9.49
R-Up Vince Musolino '13 American .029 7.154, 181.37 7.16
Semis Tim Roberts


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Mike LaRose '68 Plymouth .059 10.277, 128.55 10.29
R-Up Eric Sadowski '70 Dodge .052 10.592, 122.94 10.63
Semis Tony Arcadi

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Bob Salerno '06 Ski-doo .085 9.893, 123.98 9.86
R-Up Heath Smith '03 Ski-doo .088 8.692, 140.14 8.70
Semis Brian Moulton

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve English '82 Cutlass .086 12.968, 89.64 12.60
R-Up Bill Coon '84 Camaro .054 15.692, 83.15 14.91
Semis Todd Minerd
Jake Lipke


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Becca Searle '86 Mustang .100 10.945, 119.73 10.91
R-Up Kim Rogge '73 Duster .039 10.397, 127.08 10.40
Semis Myles Higby

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Brian Mahler '05 Pontiac .027 16.060, 83.29 15.99
R-Up Kurt Hagen '11 Camaro .151 12.841, 108.89 12.82
Semis Adam Carlson

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Slaven Peric '13 Kawasaki .109 9.217, 135.10 9.15
R-Up Sudsy Eastman '01 Ski-doo .028 10.031, 120.05 9.87
Semis Kevin Wuest

Jr. Dragster

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Abby Hacker Jr. Dragster .194 7.933, 82.24 7.94
R-Up Daniel Thorpe Jr. Dragster - .086 9.183, 71.29 8.92
Semis Jimmy O'Toole
Alexis Collins

Top Street - No Time Shootout (1/8th mile)

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Mike Gwynn '66 Chevelle .123 no time Heads Up
R-Up Fred Davis '72 Camaro .197 no time Heads Up
Semis Jim Bersani
Jared Luhr

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule

Fuel Available
All Racedays



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures