Summit E.T. Racing Series - July 14

Hagen On a 4-Peat Streak

July 14 - After taking a week off from our regular Summit Racing E.T. Series schedule to host the special Smoke & Speed Diesel event last week, we returned to our regular E.T. program in addition to the Pro Stick crew on Sunday. Kurt Hagen pictured above, continued his Street Trophy, "No Quarter" assault and bagged his 4th straight Trophy class win. Here's how the final rounds shook out and the boxscores below.

Russ Denmark - Super Pro winner

Super Pro
Josh Speck held a slight .003 to .016 reaction time advantage over Russ Denmark, but couldn't reel Russ in at the top end and lost by a .021-MOV in the Super Pro final. Dialed in at a 4.62, Russ got the head start and streaked to a 4.654 at 147.06 mph to score the win light, while Josh fell off his 4.58 dial-in and ran a 4.633 at 143.39 mph in his runner-up effort. Anthony Zangari and John Cooper drove to semifinal finishes on the day. 

Steve Seelman Jr. - Pro Winner

Steve Seelman Jr. scored the Pro win over Cicero's Justin Hardman when his .004 to .036 reaction time advantage forced Justin into a breakout run. Dialing in at a 13.42, Steve nailed the tree in his '89 Firebird and clicked off a 13.467 at 94.70 mph pass to take the win. Justin posted a decent reaction, but the gap was too large and he piloted his roadster to a too-quick 8.931 at 134.70 mph in his effort to catch Steve and had to settle for the runner-up finish. Gary Rolfe Sr. was the lone semifinalist in the class.

Pro MX
John Kuhfta scored some payback after losing to Kevin Wuest in their Bike/Sled Trophy final round match when Kevin broke out by a mere .006 in their Pro MX final round duel. John got the show started when he posted an .017 light on his '94 Polaris and cruised to the win on the strength of his 10.117 at 123.989 mph pass on his 10.06 dial-in. Kevin had his '18 chassied, Polaris dialed in at a 9.85, but took too much finish line stripe and broke out with a 9.844 at 119.64 mph in his runner-up effort. Ryan Orizino rode his Arctic Cat to a semifinal run on the day.

Dan Caissie - Street Money Winner

Street Money
Dan Caissie continued his hot-streak to score his second-straight Street Money win, this time by knocking out Zach Beasaw and his '75 Chevy. Dan held the .013 to .085 reaction time advantage which was just enough to catch Zach at the top end and lift to a 11.182 at 114.85 mph on his 11.13 dial-in. Zach ran a solid 17.180 at 79.10 mph on his 17.16 dial, but gave up too much ground at the line and had to settle for a second place finish. Clarence Spadey was the lone semifinalist.

P.J. Haynes - Modified Winner

P.J. Haynes won both ends of the track in his Modified final round win over Howard Roberts. P.J. held an .051 to .083 r.t. advantage on the line and ran a solid .015-over, 10.765 at 122.87 mph in his winning pass. Howard dialed his '80 Chevy in at a 10.34 and ran a 10.372 at 128.53 mph and settled for the runner-up finish. Myles Higby and Lon Barron each drove to semifinal finishes on the day.

Street Trophy
The win streak has reached to four as Kurt Hagen duplicated his June 30 Street Trophy win over Steve Seelman Sr., this time on the strength of a .004-over 12.534 at 108.68 mph, quarter-mile pass in his 2011 Chvey Camaro. Steve held a decisive .027 to .107 reaction time advantage over Kurt, but smashed his 13.76 dial-in when he posted a too-quick 13.706 at 98.70 mph breakout run. Reigning class champ Steve English posted another semifinal finish on the day.

Kevin Wuest - Bike/Sled Trophy Winner

Bike/Sled Trophy
Kevin Wuest got the B/S Trophy win over John Kuhfta when he held a massive .077 to .143 reaction time advantage, caught John and streaked to the win with a 9.880 at 116.30 mph on his 9.84 dial-in. John fell off his 10.08 dial and logged a 10.145 at 123.03 mph run in his losing effort. Matt Luke and Mike Bomford each drove to semifinal finishes.

Natalie Musolino - Jr. Dragster Winner

Jr. Dragster
Natalie Musolino scored her first Jr. Dragster win of the season when Alexis Collins posted a heart-breaking -.007 red light start in their final round match. Natalie got things started with a .113-initiated, 8.033 at 81.68 mph on her 8.02 dial-in and collected the winner circle appearance. Alexis was really dialed in running a tight, .006-over 7.906 at 81.21 mph pass, but it was all for naught with her glowing red light. Davion Short and Chance Nash each made it to the semis on the day.

Tyler Spialek - Pro Stick Winner

Pro Stick
The Pro Stick crew returned to ESTA on Sunday and saw Tyler Spialek of Farmington, NY score the win over Bill Bruce of Mount Upton, NY. It was all but over on the line as Tyler held a massive .073 to .842 reaction time advantage over Bill. Tyler drove his 2016 Ford to an off-the-throttle 12.943 at 95.11 mph on his 12.61 dial to score the win. Bill held a bunch in the bank as he blew out his 11.90 prediction and cruised to a 11.690 at 113.86 mph for the runner-up honors. Dave Bombard was the lone semifinalist. 

That wraps it up for today's action. We will be holding our Thursday Night Thunder event on Thursday to help kick off the Hot Rod weekend of the Syracuse Nationals at the State Fairgrounds and culminating with the NAPA Auto Parts Twin 10K events this Saturday and Sunday. See front page for details. There will be no Summit Racing E.T. Series point event classes held this weekend.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.
Event photos by Vicki Hopper


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Russ Denmark Dragster .016 4.654, 147.06 4.62
R-Up Josh Speck Dragster .003 4.633, 143.39 4.58
Semis Anthony Zangari
John Cooper


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve Seelman, Jr. '89 Pontiac .004

13.3467, 94.70

R-Up Justin Hardman Roadster .036 8.931, 134.70 8.94
Semis Gary Rolfe Sr.

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win John Kuhfta '94 Polaris .017 10.117, 123.98 10.06
R-Up Kevin Wuest '18 Polaris .060 9.844, 119.64 9.85
Semis Ryan Orizino

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Dan Caissie '87 Mustang .013 11.182, 114.85 11.13
R-Up Zach Beasaw '75 Chevy .085 17.180, 79.10 17.16
Semis Clarence Spadey


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win P.J. Haynes '78 Chevy .051 10.765, 122.87 10.75
R-Up Howard Roberts '80 Chevy .083 10.372, 128.53 10.34
Semis Myles Higby
Lon Barron

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Kurt Hagen '11 Camaro .107 12.534, 108.68 12.53
R-Up Steve Seelman '90 Camaro .027
13.706, 98.70 13.76
Semis Steve English

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Kevin Wuest
'18 Polaris .077 9.880, 116.30 9.84
R-Up John Kuhfta
'94 Polaris .143 10.145, 123.03 10.08
Semis Matt Luke
Mike Bomford

Jr. Dragster

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Natalie Musolino Jr. Dragster .133 8.033, 81.68 8.02
R-Up Alexis Collins Jr. Dragster -0.007 7.906, 81.21 7.90
Semis Davion Short
Chance Nash

Pro Stick

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Tyler Spialek
'16 Ford .073 12.943, 95.11 12.61
R-Up Bill Bruce '67 Chevy .842 11.690, 113.86 11.90
Semis John Pfuntner

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures