Summit E.T. Racing Series - July 29


Pro Wins for Zangari, Hardman, Orizino

July 29 - We returned to our regular Summit Racing E.T. Series event on Sunday that also featured a Pro Street Shootout class. Racers and track staff got their batteries recharged after an intense 2 days of high dollar bracket racing last weekend and got right back into it for a return to E.T. Series points racing. Here's how the final rounds shook out and the boxscores below.

Anthony Zangari - Super Pro Winner

Super Pro
The Super Pro final saw Anthony Zangari score a breakout win over Mike LaRose. Mike got a hefty r.t. cushion with a .014 to .040 lead, but took too much finishline at the top end with a .004-under 6.386 at 103.23 mph runner-up pass. Anthony was charging hard in his dragster and tripped the timers at a 4.794 at 139.76 mph pass on his 4.77 dial-in to take the win. Mike Scribani was the lone semifinalist.

Justin Hardman - Pro Winner

Justin Hardman had gobs of real estate to play with, courtesy of a .019 to .105 reaction time advantage, as he chased Myles Higby down for the Pro win. Dialed in at a 5.64, Justin drove his Roadster to a 5.678 at 113.56 mph pass for his second Pro class win of the 2018 season. Myles drove his '69 Dart out to a 6.386 at 107.67 mph breakout run on his 6.40 dial-in for the runner-up finish. AJ Meier drove to the lone semifinal finish.

Ryan Orizino - Pro MX Winner

Pro MX
Pro MX action saw Heath Smith end his chance at the win with a heart-breaking -.001 red light, handing the win over to Ryan Orizino. Ryan cut a decent .086 light and drove his '96 Arctic Cat to an outstanding 6.591 at 103.47 mph pass on his 6.58 dial for the win. Heath shut his sled down after seeing red. Brian Moulton and Dennis Boston drove to semifinal finishes.

Jake Lipke - Street Money Winner

Street Money
Jake Lipke won the Street Money final in a close one over Clarence Spady with a slim .005 margin of victory. Jake held a slight .056 to .060 reaction time advantage and was able to catch Clarence at the line with a winning 7.232 at 86.36 mph pass on his 7.20 dial-in. Clarence drove his "sleeper" Toyota to an 11.613 on his 11.58 dial for the runner-up honors. Michael Dunbar and Dan Caissie were the semifinalists.

Bill Bedell - Modified Winner

Bill Bedell scored his first win in Modified with a win over a red lighting Bob Crouse. Santa Crouse gave the win away with a too-quick  -0.008 foul start as Bill was ripe for picking with a .349 reaction time. Dialed in at a 6.57, Bill's '85 Regal got the head start over Bob's '91 GMC who was dialed in at a 6.01. Bill crossed the finishline at a 6.685 at 93.74 mph, while Bob ran it out to a 5.987 at 114.54 mph pass. Brian Mahler was the lone semifinalist 

Steve Seelman - STreet Trophy Winner

Street Trophy
Steve Seelman in his '92 Firebird got his second-straight Street Trophy win this time over Kurt Hagen in his '11 Camaro. Steve ran a .074-initiated 9.068 on his 9.02 dial-in for the win, while Kurt was off at the start with a .170 r.t., but ran an outstanding 7.955 at 86.54 mph pass on his 7.95 dial-in. Rich Garland III and Shawn Bradwell both drove to semifinal finishes.

David Ashby - Bike/Sled Winner

Bike/Sled Trophy
David Ashby won Bike/Sled over a red lighting Kevin Wuest. Spotting David a nearly 2-second head start, Kevin got too eager at the line and cut it too close with a -0.012 foul start and drove his Polaris to a 6.274 at 106.20 mph on his 6.24 dial for the runner-up honor. David drove his Kawasaki to a .098-initiated, 8.159 on his 8.12 dial for the win. Brian Moulton scored his second semifinal finish of the day.

Messiah Hart - Jr. Dragster Winner

Jr. Dragster
Messiah Hart got the double-breakout Jr. Dragster win over Jazmyne Short. Jazmyne had enough in the bank with a .024 to .055 starting line advantage, but dipped further under her 8.00 dial-in than Messiah and had to settle for the runner-up finish. "Ladies first" at the start, but Messiah drove to a .001-under 9.969 at 72.47 mph to score the win light at the top end. Jazzy drove to a 7.987 at 79.81 mph pass to settle for the yellow time slip. Alexis Collins was the lone semifinalist.

Fred Davis - Pro Street Shootout

Pro Street Shootout
Fred Davis got the heads-up Pro Street win in his '72 Camaro over Jim Bersani driving his turbo-powered '66 Nova Wagon. Fred got the jump with a .065 reaction and crossed the finish first with a 5.638 at 133.18 mph pass for the win. Turbo lag may be an explaination for Jim's out of character .378 reaction, but Jim followed Fred across the line at a 6.054 at 123.61 mph for the runner-up effort. Tim Watchorn Sr. was the semifinalist.

That wraps it up for today's action. We'll see you next Sunday.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.
Winner Circle photos by Vicki Hopper


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Anthony Zangari
Dragster .040 4.794, 139.76 4.77
R-Up Mike LaRose '69 Dart .014 6.386, 103.23 6.39
Semis Mike Scribani


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Justin Hardman Roadster .019 5.678, 113.56 5.64
R-Up Myles Higby '69 Dodge .105 6.386, 107.67 6.40
Semis AJ Meier

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Ryan Orizino '96 Arctic Cat .086 6.591, 103.47 6.58
R-Up Heath Smith '03 Ski-doo -0.001 shut off 5.46
Semis Brian Moulton
Dennis Boston

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Jake Lipke '70 Chevelle .056 7.232, 86.36 7.20
R-Up Clarence Spady '99 Toyota .060 11.613, 61.47 11.58
Semis Michael Dunbar
Dan Caissie


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Bill Bedell '85 Regal .349 6.685, 93.74 6.57
R-Up Bob Crouse '91 GMC -0.008 5.987, 114.54 6.01
Semis Brian Mahler

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve Seelman '92 Firebird .074 9.068, 74.74 9.02
R-Up Kurt Hagen '11 Camaro .170
7.955, 86.54 7.95
Semis Rich Garland III
Shawn Bradwell

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win David Ashby
'90 Kawasaki .098 8.159, 82.41 8.12
R-Up Kevin Wuest '18 Polaris -0.012 6.274, 106.20 6.24
Semis Brian Moulton

Jr. Dragster

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Messiah Hart Jr. Dragster .055 8.969, 72.47 8.97
R-Up Jazmyne Short Jr. Dragster .024 7.987, 79.81 8.00
Semis Alexis Collins

Pro Street Shootout

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Fred Davis '72 Camaro .065 5.638, 133.18 HeadsUp
R-Up Jim Bersani '66 Nova Wagn .378 6.054, 123.61 HeadsUp
Semis Tim Watchorn Sr.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule

Fuel Available
All Racedays



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures