Summit E.T. Racing Series - October 15

 Belvick Wins Super Pro Title

2017 Summit Racing E.T. Series Point Chase Wraps Up

October 15 - Un-Seasonally warm temperatures welcomed racers for the final weekend for Summit Racing E.T. Series points racing. As daylight hours dwindle in the Fall we ran 1/8th mile eliminations so there would be ample daylight to conclude our event. Here's how the final rounds shook out and the boxscores below.

Bob Belvick - Super Pro Winner

Super Pro
Bob Belvick wrapped up the Super Pro title on Sunday when he defeated a red-lighting Tom Samsel in their final round match. Dialing in at a 5.71, Tom got the head start on the line, but was .003 too quick at the tree and handed the win over to Mr. B. Bob had the luxury to run it out after seeing Tom's red light and ran a harmless .001-under 5.019 at 135.09 mph pass for the win. Scott Popple was the lone semifinalist.

Myles Higby - Pro Winner

Myles Higby improved on his October 1st semifinal finish and defeated Terry Lee in their Pro class final round duel. Myles got a slight .01-second reaction time advantage and ran closer to his dial at the top end to garner the win, win a 6.284 on his 6.26 dial-in. Terry drove his '89 Mustang to a 6.792 et on his 6.68 dial-in for the runner-up honors. Tyler BeDell and Gary Rolfe Jr. drove to semifinal finishes.The win pushed Myles up the ladder into a first place tie with Mike LaRose Sr. with 35 points. Once the tie-breaker system is reviewed, a points champion will be announced.

Pro MX
Pro MX action saw Heath Smith score the Pro MX win over John Kuhfta by winning both ends of the track. Heath got a .049 to .078 jump and ran his ski-doo out to a 5.668 at 113.01 mph on his 5.55 dial for the win. John drove his Polaris to a 6.687 on his 6.56 dial-in for the runner-up finish. David Ashby was the lone semifinalist.

Clarence Spady - Street Money Winner

Street Money
Clarence Spady scored his second Street Money win of the season in his 1999 Toyota "race car!" The veteran racer did his job at both ends of the track and scored the win over Ryan Zimmer with his .088-initiated, 11.691 on his 11.67 dial-in final round pass. Ryan drove his '93 Chevy to a 9.002 at 72.11 mph on his 8.94 dial-in and settled for the runner-up finish. Steve Seelman Sr. drove to the semifinal finish.

Scott Smith overcame a .093 to .058 r.t. deficit to Rich Golley and drove his '64 Plymouth to a 6.667 at 102.49 mph pass on his 6.65 dial-in to score the Modified win. Rich piloted his '70 Chevy to an 8.044 e.t. on his 7.96 dial-in for the runner-up honors. Steve Searles locked up the Modified title with his semifinal finish along with 2016 Modified Champion, Myles Higby.

Steve English - Street Trophy Winner

Street Trophy
Steve English repeated his 10/1 Street Trophy winner circle visit when he defeated Kurt Hagen in their double breakout final round duel. Steve held a .054 to .073 reaction time advantage and drove to a winning 8.063 on his 8.08 dial-in. Kurt ran a 7.981 at 86.03 mph on his 8.00 dial-in for the runner-up finish. Ryan Zimmer was the semifinalist.

Bike/Sled Trophy
John Kuhfta had nearly a tenth of a second lead over Bob Salerno in the Bike/Sled Trophy final and cruised to an easy 6.656 at 91.81 mph pass on his 6.56 dial for the win. Bob ran a solid 6.168 on his 6.15 dial, but couldn't make up the ground lost at the line and settled for the runner-up finish. David Ashby scored his 2nd semifinal finish for the day.

Kimberlee Snell - Jr. Dragster Winner

Jr. Dragster
Kimberlee Snell got the win over Alexis Collins in the Jr. Dragster final and slipped by Alexis to score the 2017 Jr. Dragster points title. Kimberlee drilled the tree with a .0009 reaction time and cruised to the win with a 9.247 at 69.23 mph pass on her 9.21 dial-in. Alexis ran great all season and finished the points chase in second place. She piloted her Peak Antifreeze Jr. Dragster to a 8.032 on her 8.00 dial-in for the runner-up finish. Jazmyne Short was the lone semifinalist.

That wraps it up for the 2017 Summit Racing E.T. Series point action. See you next Sunday for Open Test & Tune and perhaps a Gamblers race.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.
Winner Circle photos by Vicki Hopper


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Bob Belvick Dragster .046 5.019, 135.09 5.02
R-Up Tom Samsel '80 Monza -0.003 5.744, 119.37 5.71
Semis Scott Popple


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Myles Higby '69 Dodge .058 6.284, 107.94 6.26
R-Up Terry Lee '89 Mustang .068 6.792, 104.90 6.68
Semis Tyler BeDell
Gary Rolfe, Jr.

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Heath Smith '03 Ski-doo .049 5.668, 113.01 5.55
R-Up John Kuhfta '89 Polaris .078
6.687, 93.14 6.56
Semis David Ashby

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Clarence Spady '99 Toyota .088 11.691, 61.36 11.67
R-Up Ryan Zimmer '93 Chevy .133 9.002, 72.11 8.94
Semis Steve Seelman Sr.


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Scott Smith '64 Plymouth .093 6.667, 102.49 6.65
R-Up Rich Golley '70 Chevy .058
8.044, 76.28 7.96
Semis Steve Searles
Myles Higby

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve English '82 Olds .054

8.063, 86.56

R-Up Kurt Hagen '11 Camaro .073
7.981, 86.03 8.00
Semis Ryan Zimmer

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win John Kuhfta '89 Polaris .048 6.656, 91.81 6.56
R-Up Bob Salerno '06 Ski-doo .147 6.168, 106.45 6.15
Semis David Ashby

Jr. Dragster

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Kimberlee Snell Jr. Dragster .0009 9.247, 69.23 9.21
R-Up Alexis Collins Jr. Dragster  .049 8.032, 79.62 8.00
Semis Jazmyne Short

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures