Summit E.T. Racing Series - September 10

King of the Track final

Searles Scores King of the Track, Wallys Awarded
Howard Roberts Street Money Streak Continues at 4!

September 10 - Cool fall air on Sunday had racers jetting up to dump more fuel in their "burn boxes" to squeeze out more h.p. as we celebrated our annual NY State Championships today. We also ran our rained out King of the Track event after time trial were completed which saw Steve Searles score a tight win over Ryan Orizino.  Here's how the final rounds shook out and the boxscores below.

Tom Doig - Super Pro Winner

Super Pro
Tom Doig had a .022 deficit to make up when Gene Stankivitz III slapped a .007 to .029 reaction time advantage over Tom, but Gene took too much finishline and broke out with a 10.273 on his 10.29 dial-in to hand the win over to Tom. Mr. Doig was in hot pursuit and slipped under his 8.76 dial with a 8.759 at 151.03 mph but it was still good enough to score the Super Pro "Wally" and first place purse. Pete Curpier was the lone semifinalist.

John Cira Jr. - Pro Winner

When we hold our larger, more prestigious races each year, John Cira Jr. takes the eastbound Thruway ride and usually makes his mark in some way, and he did just that today by taking the Pro win over former track champion Rob Forbes. John got the head start dialing his '94 GMC in at 11.61 and posted a strong .020 reaction time while running it out to an 11.649 winning pass. Rob wasn't far behind at the tree with a respectible .065 light, but in his effort to chase John down broke out with a razor-thin 10.329 on his 10.33 dial-in and had to settle for the runner-up honors. Rich Golley and Al Meier drove to semifinal finishes.

John Kuhfta - Pro MX Winner

Pro MX
Pro MX action saw John Kuhfta score a double-breakout win over Nicole Boston to score the NYS Championship "Wally." John got the jump over Nicole with a comfortable .062 to .107 reaction time margin, and broke out with a 10.575 on his 10.59 dial-in to hold off the hard chargin' Ski-doo of Nicole. The hole was too deep for Nicole to overcome and she was forced into a larger breakout effort when her 9.859 pass on her 9.88 dial-in netted the runner-up finish. Kevin Wuest was the lone semifinalist.

Howard Roberts - Street Money Winner

Street Money
He did it again! "Mr. August/September" Howard Roberts drove his '84 Firebird to the Street Money 4-peat which was preceeded by wins on August 6, 20 and 27. If memory serves me correctly, the last "Pro" class racer to achieve this was Carl Drake Sr. who put together 4 straight Super Pro wins in the late 90s! Howard's next "victim" was Rick Vose who made it a great effort, but gave up a slim .059 to .079 reaction time advantage to Mr. Roberts and broke out with an 11.561 on his 11.57 dial-in in his runner-up effort. Howard was on his dial-in again as he reeled in Rick's Plymouth and took the win light with a .034-over 10.634 at 122.61 mph Wally-winning pass. Jim Smith drove to the semifinal finish.

Mark Dobie - Modified Winner

Mark Dobie got the Modified win over Gene Hutchings with an off-throttle 10.206 at 114.25 mph on his 10.02 dial-in. Gene either had mechanical issues or had the sun in his eyes and cut an uncharacteristic .476 reaction which basically slammed the door shut at the starting line. Gene legged it out running a 10.451 on his 10.37 dial. Tyler Bedell and Justin Hardman drove to the semifinal finishes.

Steve English - Street Trophy Winner

Street Trophy
Steve English posted a comfortable .013 to .093 reaction time advantage over Lauren Kanur and stopped the timers at top end with a 12.496 at 104.88 mph pass on his 12.43 dial-in to score the win. Lauren posted a 13.970 on her 13.94 dial to take the runner-up honors. Rich Garland was the lone semifinalist.

Ron Dean - Bike/Sled Winner

Bike/Sled Trophy
Ron Dean nailed his 10.05 dial-in and ran a .027-initiated 10.057 at 123.00 mph to score the B/S Trophy win.  Bob Salerno was a tad too quick on the trigger and lit the red bulb with a -0.007 reaction and drove his '06 Ski-doo out to a 9.700 on his 9.73 dial-in for his runner-up finish. Sudsy Eastman was the lone semifinalist.

Natalie Musolino - Jr. Dragster Winner

Jr. Dragster
Natalie Musolino got her second-straight Junior win winning both ends of the track over Hunter Denmark. Natalie had a .025 to .103 cushion in the bank and cruised to a 7.973 pass on her 7.92 dial-in. Hunter dipped under his 7.90 dial-in while trying to make up ground and broke out with 7.881 at 82.29 mph runner-up effort. Jimmy O'Toole was the lone semifinalist.

Steve Searle - King of the Track Winner

King of the Track
With near-perfect, side-by-side .002 reaction times, Modified rep Steve Searles drove his '86 Bitts n Pieces Mustang to the King of the Track title over Pro MX rep Ryan Orizino who broke out by a mere .002 on his Arctic Cat. Ryan gave chase to Steve, but slipped under his 10.33 dial-in and tripped the timers at a too-quick 10.328 handing the title to Steve. Steve ran a solid 10.970 on his 10.95 dial-in and celebrated his 2017 ESTA King of the Track title. Super Pro rep Brett VanBrocklin and Pro rep Gary Rolfe Jr. were the semifinalists.

That wraps it up for today's action. Next up on Sunday, September 17 is non-points event.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.
Winner Circle photos by Vicki Hopper


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Tom Doig '69 Plymouth .029 8.759, 151.03 8.76
R-Up Gene Stankivitz III '81 Chevy .007 10.273, 110.56 10.29
Semis Pete Curpier


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win John Cira Jr. '94 GMC .020 11.649, 115.90 11.61
R-Up Rob Forbes '69 Chevy .065 10.329, 126.14 10.33
Semis Rich Golley
Al Meier

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win John Kuhfta '89 Polaris .062 10.575, 110.00 10.59
R-Up Nicole Boston '01 Ski-doo .107
9.859, 125.03 9.88
Semis Kevin Wuest

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Howard Roberts '84 Firebird .059 10.634, 122.61 10.62
R-Up Rick Vose '75 Plymouth .079 11.561, 113.56 11.57
Semis Jim Smith


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Mark Dobie '68 Nova .067 10.206, 114.25 10.02
R-Up Gene Hutchings '65 Plymouth .476
10.451, 129.03 10.37
Semis Tyler Bedell
Justin Hardman

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve English '82 Cutlass .013

12.496, 104.88

R-Up Lauren Kanur '95 Impala .093
13.970, 98.01 13.94
Semis Rich Garland

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Ron Dean '97 Ski-doo .027 10.057, 123.00 10.05
R-Up Bob Salerno '06 Ski-doo -0.007 9.700, 127.85 9.73
Semis Sudsy Eastman

Jr. Dragster

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Natalie Musolino Jr. Dragster .025 7.973, 76.25 7.92
R-Up Hunter Denmark Jr. Dragster  .103 7.881, 82.29 7.90
Semis Jimmy O'Toole

King of the Track

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve Searles '86 Mustang .002 10.970, 119.40 10.95
R-Up Ryan Orizino '96 Arctic Cat  .002 10.328, 124.33 10.33
Semis Brett VanBrocklin
Gary Rolfe, Jr.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures