Summit E.T. Racing Series - September 6

Roberts Scores Again in Super Pro

King of the Track - Ryan Orizino

September 6 - An unusually hot day greeted that racers today with temps in the 90's for the second-straight week, but at least it was dry as we hosted the King of the Track race as well as the Super Pro Showdown with $1,500 going to the winner.

kingofthetrackKing of the Track
The King of the Track race which had our number 1 point earners in each class all racing for a shot at the special "Wally" trophy and the bragging rights that go with it. The race had Matt Spisak in Super
Pro, Anthony Zangari in Pro, Ryan Orizino in Pro MX, Steve English in both Street Money and Street Trophy, Myles Higby in Modified and Kevin Wuest representing the Bike/Sled Trophy class.
The final round came down to Ryan Orizino on his '96 Arctic Cat going up against Anthony Zangari in his '95 Camaro. Anthony held a slight .575 to .588 reaction time advantage, but Ryan ran right on his 10.54 dial-in with a 10.542 at 121.98 mph to take the win light. Anthony ran just a tad off of his 10.02 dial with a 10.058 at 135.52 mph in his runner up effort. Kevin Wuest lost to Ryan in the semi's and Matt Spisak lost to Anthony in their semifinal match up.

Tim Roberts

Super Pro
Tim Roberts' great season just keeps rolling along as he scored his 4th Super Pro win of the season in his Chevy powered dragster when he stopped Dan Bell who was driving his '70 Nova. Tim and Dan were close at the tree with Tim holding a slight .512 to .516 edge and at the stripe Tim played the top end game to perfection running right on his 7.80 with a 7.800 at 152.10 mph, while Dan had to settle for the runner up spot with his 10.612 at 120.98 mph run on his 10.59 dial in. Gary Rolfe Jr. and Mike Thomas were the semifinalists.

Anthony Zangari

The Pro final came down to Anthony Zangari in his '95 Camaro and Mike LaRose Jr. in his '69 Plymouth. Unfortunately Mike's car had some mechanical issues and he only staged the car to break the beam and Anthony singled down the track for the win. Mike Dunbar had a good outing and made it to the semis.

Brian Moulton

Pro MX
Pro MX action saw Brian Moulton take the win over Ryan Orizino. Brian rode his '76 Kawasaki to the win with a .531-initiated 10.013 at 126.45 mph run on his 9.98 dial to turn back Ryan. Ryan ran closer to his 10.52 dial-in with a 10.530 at 120.33 mph, but his .591 light made him settle for the runner-up spot on his '96 Arctic Cat. Jim Collins and Bob Salerno were the semifinalists.

Street Money
The Street classes continue to be dominated by Steve English as he drove to another win today in his '82 Cutlass defeating Mike Holifield in his '13 Malibu. Both drivers went red at the tree, but Steve was dialed in at 12.68 compared to Mike who left first with his 15.22 dial so Mike had the first chance to bulb and he did with a .450 foul and running a 15.41 at 92.41 mph on his 15.22 dial. Steve had a .481 foul and ran a 12.64 at 108.16 mph on his 12.68 for the win. Bill Bedell and Adam Carlson were the semifinalists.

Myles Higby

In Modified it was current points leader Myles Higby in his familiar '69 Dodge racing up against Dan Kirkby who usually runs his fast motorcycle in the Pro MX class, but today was driving the former Tom Samsel Chevy powered '86 Porsche. Dan held the starting line advantage .538 to .618, but took too much stripe and broke out running a 10.853 at 121.28 mph on his 10.89 dial handing the win to Myles who ran a 10.201 at 130.77 mph on his 10.17 dial. Still a good showing for Dan in his first bodied car elimination race. Becca Searles was the semifinalist.

Steve English

Street Trophy
It was deja vu in Street Trophy once again because just like the Street Money final, it was Steve English taking on Mike Holifield for the win. This time both drivers had green light starts with Steve holding a .518 to .552 advantage and winning once again by running right on his 12.68 dial in with a 12.688 at 102.46 mph effort. Mike made a good showing and kept Steve honest by nailing his 15.21 dial with a great 15.210 at 92.64 mph runner-up effort. Adam Carlson and Kurt Hagen were the semifinalists.

Sudsy Eastman

Bike/Sled Trophy
Bike/Sled Trophy racing saw Sudsy Eastman on his '01 Ski-Doo snatch the win away from John Kufhta on his '89 Polaris. Kufhta had a .553 to .596 starting line advantage, but he ran under his 10.79 dial in with a 10.781 at 109.53 mph pass allowing Sudsy's 10.043 at 126.31 mph run on his 9.94 dial take the win. Bob Salerno and Ryan Orizino were the semifinalists.

Jimmy O'Toole

Junior Dragster
Jimmy O'Toole won for the first time in his short Jr. dragster career stopping Abby Hacker in the final round today. Jimmy put together a nice final round package with a .574 light and running an 8.921 at 73.62 mph on his 8.90 dial to turn back Abby's .624 initiated break out 7.931 at 82.09 mph run on her 7.94 dial. Colby Bingel and Dunham Hall were the semifinalists.

That wraps it up for this week. We'll see you next week when we host one of the most anticipated events of our season, The National Dragster Challenge/NYS Championships with top payouts and "Wally" trophies on the line for most classes.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.


King of the Track

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Ryan Orizino '96 Arctic Cat .588 10.542, 121.98 10.54
R-Up Anthony Zangari '95 Camaro .575 10.058, 135.52 10.02
Semis Kevin Wuest
Matt Spisak

Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Tim Roberts Dragster .512 7.800, 152.10 7.80
R-Up Dan Bell '70 Nova .516 10.612, 120.98 10.59
Semis Mike Thomas
Gary Rolfe Jr.


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Anthony Zangari '95 Camaro na Shut-off 10.08
R-Up Mike LaRose Jr. '69 Plymouth -- Broke --
Semis Mike Dunbar

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Brian Moulton '76 Kawasaki .531 10.013, 126.45 9.98
R-Up Ryan Orizino '96 Arctic Cat .591 10.530, 120.33 10.52
Semis Jim Collins
Bob Salerno

Street Money

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve English '82 Cutlass .481 12.649, 108.16 12.68
R-Up Mike Holifield '13 Malibu .450 15.417, 92.41 15.22
Semis Adam Carlson
Bill BeDell


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Myles Higby '69 Dodge Dart .618 10.201, 130.77 10.17
R-Up Dan Kirkby '86 Porsche .538 10.853, 121.28 10.89
Semis Becca Searles

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve English '82 Cutlass .518 12.688, 102.46 12.68
R-Up Mike Holifield '13 Malibu .552 15.210, 92.64 15.21
Semis Adam Carlson
Kurt Hagen

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Sudsy Eastman '01 Ski-doo .596 10.040, 126.31 9.94
R-Up John Kuhfta '89 Polaris .553 10.781, 109.53 10.79
Semis Ryan Orizino
Bob Salerno

Jr. Dragster

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Jimmy O'Toole Jr. Dragster .574 8.921, 73.62 8.90
R-Up Abby Hacker '14 Mike Bos .624 7.931, 82.09 7.94
Semis Colby Bingel
Dunham Hall

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures