Summit E.T. Racing Series - August 18

Ron Klein Jr. Captures Jr. Dragster Challenge Title

August 18 Jr. Dragster Winners

August 18 - We held our annual Jr. Dragster Challenge event today which saw an increased entry total as Jr. Dragster drivers from around the State converged to take their shot at the Challenge title. In the end it was ESTA regular and current points leader Ron Klein Jr. taking the win over fellow ESTA driver Dunham Hall. It was over at the start as Dunham lit the red light as both drivers were dialed in at 7.90. Ron would have been tough to beat as he nailed the tree with an awesome .511 light. Both drivers broke out, but Ronnie was closer to his 7.90 dial with a 7.888 at 83.20 mph pass, while Dunham dove deeper on his dial with a 7.843 at 84.92 mph run. Nine year old Natalia Musolino did herself proud by hanging in there with mostly older kids finishing as the semifinalist.

Jr. Dragster "A"
The 13-17 year old final came down to Mary Sparago from Wilbraham, Ma. taking on Paige DeSalvo in her ’10 Halfscale. Mary drilled the tree with a terrific .510 and never looked back clocking a 7.920 at 81.38 mph run on her 7.90 dial, while Paige had to settle for the runner up spot with her .588 initiated, 7.907 at 81.66 mph run on her 7.90 dial in. Julia Sparago was the semifinalist, losing to twin sister Mary. 

Jr. Dragster "B"

In the 8-12 year old group it was one of the Halfscale Shop cars driven by Owen Roth from Danielsville, NY taking the win over Hunter Heppner from Ruby, NY. Owen grabbed his “Wally” with a .601 initiated, 8.994 at 72.46 mph run on his 8.97 dial in, while unfortunately Hunter’s car had a clutch support bearing go bad on him and he had difficulty staging the car. He finally got staged, but he went in deep and red lighted and had to settle for the runner up spot like he did last year. Daniel Thorpe and Jenna Lipke were the semifinalists.

Vince Musolino - Super Pro Winner

Super Pro
In Super Pro, it was Vince Musolino driving his Ricelli Enterprises backed 2013 American dragster to the win when he defeated the always tough Carl Drake Jr. who was in his dragster. The reaction times were close with Vince holding a slight .516 to .520 advantage and he won with a 7.213 at 176.43 mph on his 7.16 dial, while Carl was the runner up with a 7.822 at 165.35 mph run on his 7.76 dial in. Mark Leo was the semifinalist.

Anthony Zangari - Pro Winner

The Pro final came down to Anthony Zangari and Anthony Zegarelli both in Camaro’s doing battle for the top spot. Zangari scored the win with a .570 light and matching his 10.70 dial in with a 10.704 at 132.77 mph, while Zegarelli had to settle for the runner up spot with a .561 light and running a 10.582 at 129.02 mph on his 10.55. John Pierson and Jay Wahl were the semifinalists.

Pro MX
Ryan Yarah
took the Pro MX win on his ’09 Suzuki after Dennis Boston had the misfortune of breaking his ’03 Ski-doo. Ryan shut off for the win with a 10.03 at 107.47 mph run on his 9.45 dial. Lynn Major and Derek Eastman were the semifinalists.

 Tyler BeDell - Street Money Winner

Street Money
Tyler BeDell ran through the Street Money field after buying back in after a very close first round loss to Jessica DeSiato, taking his second win in three weeks. Tyler had a .599 light and cruised to a winning 13.262 at 100.90 mph run on his 13.20 dial. Jim Smith fouled in his ’89 GMC with a .481 bulb and ran a 12.804 at 105.88 mph on his 12.76 dial. Andrea Bisson and Steve English made it to the semi’s.

Jim Giordano drove his ’70 Duster to the Modified win stopping ‘Becca Searles who was driving her ’86 Mustang. Jim held the starting line advantage .575 to .631 and ran an 11.024 at 112.72 mph run on his 10.99 dial. Becca ran an 11.695 at 113.64 mph on her 11.70 dial for the runner up effort. Fred Ebert was the semifinalist.

Street Trophy
In Street Trophy Steve English scored in his ’82 Cutlass when he defeated Earl Snyder in his ’12 Dodge. Steve ran a 12.62 at 100.20 mph on his 12.57 dial while Earl runner upped with a 13.86 at 101.31 mph run on his 13.90 dial. Reaction times did not show up on results sheet. Scott Tulley and Warren Passmore were the semifinalists.

Bike/Sled Trophy
Bike Sled Trophy saw “The Rocket” Rick Fies take the win on his ’06 Suzuki when he ran down Sudsy Eastman who was riding his ’00 Ski-doo. Sudsy had a great .505 light, but he ran off his 9.93 dial with a 10.033 at 123.98 mph allowing Rick’s .551 initiated, 8.717 at 154 mph run on his 8.68 dial sneak by him for the win. Ron Dean was the semifinalist.

Howard Roberts - Komen Charity Class Winner

Chris Raineri once again did a great job of putting together the Susan G. Komen Charity Race and the racers showed their support with over 50 vehicles entered this year. In the end it was Howard Roberts making a return to racing after about a 1-year hiatus and taking the win in his Firebird. Howard defeated Rick Vose who was in Howard’s former Dodge. Rick had the starting line advantage .506 to .522, but he ran under his 11.87 dial with an 11.802 at 108.66 mph, while Howard won with a 12.336 at 94.54 mph run on his 12.23 dial in. Heather Scheirer and Chrissy Klein were the semifinalists.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.


Jr. Dragster Challenge

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Ron Klein Jr. '13 Bos .511 7.888, 83.20 7.90
R-Up Dunham Hall '13 Bos .486 7.843, 84.92


Semis Natalia Musolino

Jr. Dragster "A"

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Mary Sparago Jr. Dragster .510 7.920, 81.38 7.90
R-Up Paige DeSalvo '10 Halfscale .588 7.907, 81.66


Semis Julia Sparago

Jr. Dragster "B"

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Owen Roth '12 Halfscale .601 8.994, 72.46 8.97
R-Up Hunter Heppner Bos .337 9.035, 73.64


Semis Daniel Thorpe
Jenna Lipke

Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Vince Musolino '13 American .516 7.213, 176.43 7.16
R-Up Carl Drake Jr. Dragster .520 7.822, 165.35


Semis Mark Leo


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Anthony Zangari '99 Camaro .570 10.074, 132.77 10.07
R-Up Anthony Zegarelli '99 Camaro .561 10.582, 129.02 10.55
Semis John Pierson
Jason Wahl

Pro MX

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Ryan Yarah '09 Suzuki .617 10.032, 107.47 9.45
R-Up Dennis Boston Jr. '03 Ski-doo .571 Broke na
Semis Derek Eastman
Lynn Major

Street Money

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Tyler BeDell '85 Regal .599 13.262, 100.90 13.20
R-Up Jim Smith '89 Sonoma .481 12.804, 105.88 12.76
Semis Steve English
Andrea Bisson


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Jim Gioridano '70 Duster .575 11.024, 112.72 10.99
R-Up Becca Searles '86 Mustang .631 11.695, 113.64 11.70
Semis Fred Ebert

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve English '82 Cutlass na 12.627, 100.20 12.57
R-Up Earl Snyder '12 Dodge na 13.863, 101.31 13.90

Scott Tulley

Warren Passmore

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Rick Fies '06 Suzuki .551 8.716, 154.00 8.68
R-Up Sudsy Eastman '00 Ski-doo .505 10.033, 123.98 9.93
Semis Ron Dean

Susan G. Komen Charity Race

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Howard Roberts Firebird .522 12.336, 94.54 12.23
R-Up Rick Vose Duster .506 11.802, 108.66 11.87
Semis Heather Scheirer
Chrissy Klein

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures