Summit E.T. Racing Series - September 2

Mike LaRose ESTA 2012 King of the Track

LaRose Claims 2012 King of the Track and Super Pro Wins

September 2 - Sunday's Summit Racing E.T. Racing Series event included the 2012 edition of NHRA King of the Track which pitted current class points leaders against each other for the ESTA 2012 King of the Track Crown. Division leaders included: Scott Popple - Super Pro; Mike LaRose - Pro; Ryan Orizino - Pro MX & Bike/Sled Trophy; Steve English - Street Money; Fausto Rioscolon - Modified and Ted Lewis - Street Trophy.

King of the Track
In the annual NHRA King of the Track event it was Mike LaRose taking the win over Scott Popple in their final round duel. Mike got the final started with a .526 reaction time and powered to a 10.332 at 124.88 mph run on his 10.30 dial-in. Scott rocketed to an .008-over 7.898 at 168.56 mph, but his uncharacteristic .645 reaction sealed his fate and settled for the runner-up finish. Fausto Rioscolon and Ted Lewis were the semifinalist.

Steve Doss 9/2 Pro WinnerSuper Pro
In Super Pro, Mike LaRose grabbed another win when Jim Cieri in his ’80 Buick fouled with a very close .498 red light. Jim ran it through to a 10.390 at 126.68 mph run on his 10.43 dial in while Mike shut off and coasted through. Scott Popple and Jack Vault were the semifinalists.

Steve Doss
in his ’85 Monte Carlo took his second Pro win in the past three weeks when he defeated Bob Mayers who was driving his Roadster. Steve had a .547 to .579 starting line advantage and he ran a 10.186 at 130.08 mph on his 10.12 dial to turn back Bob’s 9.544 at 138.04 mph run on his 9.46 dial. John Pierson was the semifinalist.

92pmxPro MX
In Pro MX Chrissy Klein made her move to the top of the points standings when she drove her ’02 Polaris to the win defeating Stu Sherlock on his ’97 Arctic Cat. This one was decided early as Stu lit the red light with a .486 r.t. and ran a 10.057 at 130.05 mph run on his 10.01 dial. Chrissy took the win with a .559 initiated, 10.174 at 123.94 mph run on her 10.13 dial. Heath Smith was the semifinalist.

Street Money
Matt Consiglio drove his ’95 Chevy to the Street Money win stopping Jordan Reader who was driving his ’88 Ranger. Matt got off the line with a .526 to .581 advantage and he drove to a 17.182 at 75.89 mph on his 17.14 dial to stop Jordan’s 11.589 at 111.69 mph run on his 11.52 dial. Current points leader Steve English made it to the semi’s.

In Modified Fred Wieczerzak in his ’69 Camaro ran within .001 of his dial to stop Gene Stankivitz III who was in his ’81 Malibu Wagon. Fred had a .581 light and ran an 11.061 at 118.67 mph on his 11.06 dial while Gene ran under his 12.57 dial with a 12.511 at 104.45 mph runner up effort. Points leader Fausto Rioscolon was the semifinalist.

Street Trophy
Steve English drove his ’82 Cutlass to the Street Trophy win by defeating Jim Smith in his ’89 GMC S-15. In a double breakout final Steve’s .546 initiated 13.229 at 102.52 mph run on his 13.24 dial was better than Jim’s 10.062 at 104.34 mph run on his 13.10 dial. Ted Lewis was the semifinalist.

Bike/Sled Trophy
Fred Jacobs
won the Bike/Sled Trophy final on his ’91 Suzuki after Stu Sherlock on his ’97 Arctic Cat fouled out once again. Fred was .5001 at the tree and clicked it off to a 9.500 at 142.38 mph on his 9.35 dial. Stu just did foul with a .499 and he ran a 10.023 at 130.14 mph on his 10.01 dial in. Sudsy Eastman and Chrissy Klein were the semifinalists.

Jr. Dragster "A"
In Jr. Dragster “A” Jacob Snyder who was knocked out of the points lead last week jumped right back to the top spot for now when he defeated Morgan Bunal in the final round. Morgan went red with a .450 foul and she ran a 7.926 at 83.34 mph on her 7.90 dial, while Jacob had a .461 foul and ran a 7.925 at 83.20 mph on his 7.91 for the narrow win. Paige DeSalvo was the semifinalist.

Jr. Dragster "B"
In Jr. “B” Danny Thorpe took a very close final round win over Kerstin Harris. Danny held a .547 to .561 r.t. advantage and ran a nearly dead on 13.151 at 48.01 mph on his 13.15 dial, while Kerstin ran just under her 9.02 dial with a 9.015 at 70.72 mph effort. Natalia Musolino and Shane Bingel were the semifinalists.

Wally returns next Sunday, September 9th when we hold our annual NY State Championships/National Dragster Challenge event, our most prestigious event. "A-Game" efforts will be needed to "Bring Wally home,"  See you there…

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.


King of the Track

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Mike LaRose '68 GTX .526 10.332, 124.88 10.30
R-Up Scott Popple Dragster .645 7.898, 1668.56 7.89
Semis Fausto Rioscolon
Ted Lewis

Super Pro

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Mike LaRose '68 Plymouth .545 Shut off 10.28
R-Up Jim Cieri '80 Buick .498 10.390, 126.68 10.43
Semis Scott Popple
Jack Vault


Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve Doss '85 Monte Carlo .574 10.186, 130.08 10.12
R-Up Bob Mayers '27 Roadster .579 9.544, 138.04 9.46
Semis John Pierson

Pro MX

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Chrissy Klein '02 Polaris .559 10.174, 123.94 10.13
R-Up Stuart Sherlock '97 Arctic Cat .486 10.057, 130.05 10.01
Semis Heath Smith

Street Money

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Matt Consiglio '95 Chevy .526 17.182, 75.89 17.14
R-Up Jordan Reader '88 Ford .581 11.589, 111.69 11.52
Semis Steve English


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Fred Wieczerak '69 Camaro .581 11.061, 118.67 11.06
R-Up Gene Stankivitz '81 Malibu Wgn .560 12.511, 104.45 12.57
Semis Fausto Rioscolon

Street Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Steve English '82 Cutlass .546 13.229, 102.52 13.24
R-Up Jim Smith '89 S-15 .579 13.062, 104.34 13.10
Semis Ted Lewis

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Fred Jacobs '91 Suzuki .500 9.500, 142.38 9.35
R-Up Stuart Sherlock '97 Arctic Cat .499 10.023, 130.14 10.01
Semis Sudsy Eastman
Chrissy Klein

Junior Dragster "A"

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Jacob Snyder '12 Halfscale .461 7.925, 83.20 7.91
R-Up Morgan Bunal Halfscale .450 7.926, 83.34 7.90
Semis Paige DeSalvo

Junior Dragster "B"

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Index
Win Daniel Thorpe Jr. Dragster .547

13.151, 48.01

R-Up Kerstin Harris Jr. Dragster .561 9.015, 70.72 9.02
Semis Natalia Musolino
Shane Bingel

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures