Summit E.T. Racing Series - August 19


August 19 - Sunday's event included the rescheduled Super Pro Showdown and the ever-popular, Adam's 10.50 Index race. In both instances it was Bob Belvick finishing at the top of both events for a very profitable day at the strip. Here's a brief recap of the day's winner until Pete's recap gets posted

Super Pro Showdown

In the Super Pro Showdown once again it was Bob Belvick taking the win in the money round and collecting another $1,000 for his efforts. Bob who was in his Chevy powered dragster faced off against James Smith Jr. in his Chevy powered dragster. James had a decent .525 light, but Bob laid a .5009 on him and won with a 7.845 at 171.18 mph run on his 7.82 dial while James ran under his 7.66 dial with a 7.648 at 175.21 mph to take the well deserved runner up spot. Tana Caprara and Mark Talmdage were the semifinalists.

Adam's 10.50 Index FinalAdam's 10.50 Index Race
Bob Belvick
scored the first of his two wins today when he successfully defended last year's Adam’s 10.50-index race win. Bob must have some sort of sixth sense to him as he wheeled his normally high nine-second ride to consistent 10.50’s throughout the race much like he did last year. In the final, Terry Lee lit the red light with his Chevy powered ’89 Mustang allowing Bob to drive through to a 10.001 at 135.04 mph for the $1,000 payday. Terry’s bulb was a very close .492 and he ran a 10.453 at 128.22 mph in his runner up effort. Theodore Lewis was the semifinalist in his Firebird. A special thanks goes to Adam Carlson for organizing this special event.

Theodore Lewis and Mike LaRose made their way through the Pro field to meet in the final round. In the final Theo held a .504 to .539 starting line advantage and won it with a 10.456 at 123.98 mph run on his 10.44 dial in. Mike in his ’68 GTX was right there, but he ran under his 10.31 dial in with a 10.302 at 130.38 mph and had to settle for another runner-up finish. Jason Wahl was the semifinalist.

Pro MX
Pro MX action saw Chrissy Klein on her ’02 Polaris take the win over newcomer Nate Jacobs who was on his ’04 Suzuki. Chrissy held a .514 to .570 reaction time advantage and won the double breakout final with her 10.019 at 122.52 mph run on her 10.03 dial in. Nate took the runner up spot with his 11.381 at 123.02 mph run on his 11.43. Ryan Orizino was the semifinalist.

Street Money
The Street Money final came down to Matt Bunal in his ’91 Camaro against normal Jr. Dragster “A” class pilot Paige DeSalvo driving a ’12 Chevy. An interesting side note to this final is the fact that just about 8 years ago to the day Paige faced off against Matt in her first ever Jr. Dragster final round so what were the chances that she would face him in her first car class final round. Anyways, Paige and Matt were just about even at the start .581 to .584 in Paige’s favor, but as they made their way down track Matt took the win (as he did 8 years ago) with a 12.830 at 100.03 mph run on his 12.80 dial. Paige’s car fell off and could only run a 17.671 at 79.38 mph against her 17.56 dial-in. Todd Minerd and Larry Forjone were the semifinalists.

Fausto Rioscolon grabbed another win in Modified today driving his “Sponge Bob” ’72 ‘Cuda around Gary Rolfe Jr. in his ’85 S-10. Fausto was sharp at the tree and held a .507 to .580 advantage and he won with a 9.811 at 135.55 mph run on his 9.75 dial in. Gary just did run under his 11.66 dial in with an 11.659 at 113.38 mph runner up effort. Myles Higby was the semifinalist.

Street Trophy
Jim Smith was the Street Trophy winner driving his ’89 GMC to the win stopping Todd Minerd in his ’79 Camaro. Jim had a .517 light and ran a 13.01 at 100.20 mph on his 13.08 dial. Todd was late with a .657 and ran further under his 13.04 dial with a 12.933 at 104.40 mph runner up pass. Chad Horton was the lone semifinalist.

Bike/Sled Trophy
In Bike/Sled Trophy it was Ryan Orizino on his ’96 Arctic Cat scoring the win over John Kufhta on his ’89 Polaris. John had a great .504 reaction, but he ran under his 10.92 dial in with a so close 10.912 at 106.64 mph run that allowed Ryan to steal the win with his .536 initiated, 10.239 at 123.89 mph run on his 10.12 dial in. Fred Jacobs was the semifinalist on his '91 Suzuki.

Jr. Dragster "A"
The Jr. Dragster “A” class final came down to the Snyder Bros. racing each other for this week’s bragging rights. Joshua got the win after Jacob lit the red light with a .452 allowing Josh to take the win with his .518 initiated, 7.896 at 83.20 mph run on his 7.90 dial. Jacob was also dialed in at 7.90 and he ran a 7.897 at 83.46 mph. Ron Klein Jr. and Shannon Harrison were the semifinalists.

Jr. Dragster "B"
It was an all-young lady Jr. Dragster “B” final round as Natalia Musolino and Jenna Lipke were set to race each other. Jenna cut a great .504 reaction and ran right near her 8.95 dial in with an 8.967 at 73.29 mph scoring the very impressive win. Natalie put forth a good effort, but her .663 initiated, 12.889 at 52.33 mph run could not hold off Jenna and she had to settle for the runner up spot. Shane Bingel and Kerstin Harris were the semifinalists.

That will do it for today. Next week we will have a normal Summit E.T. Points race as well as the popular “Girls Go Racing at ESTA” charity event with the entire $20 entry fee being donated to DRAW.  See you there…

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.


Super Pro Showdown

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Bob Belvick '03 Dragster .5009 7.845, 171.18 7.82
R-Up James Smith Jr. 'dragster .525 7.648, 175.21 7.66
Semis Mark Talmadge
Tana Caprara


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Theodore Lewis '82 Firebird .504 10.456, 123.98 10.44
R-Up Mike LaRose '68 Plymouth .539 10.302, 130.38 10.31
Semis Jason Wahl

Pro MX

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Chrissy Klein '02 Polaris .514 10.019, 122.52 10.03
R-Up Nate Jacobs '04 Suzuki .570 11.381, 123.02 11.43
Semis Ryan Orizino

Street Money

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Matt Bunal '91 Camaro .584 12.830, 100.03 12.80
R-Up Paige DeSalvo '12 Chevy .581 17.671, 79.38 17.56
Semis Todd Minerd
Larry Forjone


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Fausto Rioscolon '72 Cuda .507 9.811, 135.55 9.75
R-Up Gary Rolfe Jr. '85 S-10 .580 11.659, 113.38 11.66
Semis Myles Higby

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Jim Smith '89 GMC .517 13.010, 100.20 13.08
R-Up Todd Minerd '79 Camaro .657 12.933, 104.40 13.04
Semis Chad Horton

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Ryan Orizino '96 Arctic Cat .536 10.239, 123.89 10.12
R-Up John Kuhfta '83 Polaris .504 10.912, 106.64 10.92
Semis Fred Jacobs

Junior Dragster "A"

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Joshua Snyder '11 Halfscale .518 7.896, 83.20 7.90
R-Up Jacob Snyder '12 Halfscale .452 7.897, 83.46 7.90
Semis Ron Klein
Shannon Harrison

Junior Dragster "B"

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Jenna Lipke Jr. Dragster .504 8.967, 73.29 8.95
R-Up Natalie Musolino Jr. Dragster .663 12.889, 52.33 12.90
Semis Kerstin Harris
Shane Bingel

Adam's 10.50 Index Race

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Index
Win Bob Belvick '69 Camaro .522 10.001, 135.04 10.50
R-Up Terry Lee '89 Mustang .492 10.453, 128.22 10.50
Semis Theodore Lewis

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures