Summit E.T. Racing Series - Sept. 4th

Musolino KOT Win



Well it’s been a month since we have been able to complete a Summit E.T. Points race, and with a 60% chance of rain in the forecast today the outlook seemed bleak. But, somehow the rain stayed away and we got one in. Here’s how the racing action went.

In the King of The Track Race which pitted all of our current #1 points racers against each other for the coveted “Wally” trophy, it was Vince Musolino driving his Ricelli Enterprises backed 2011 American Dragster to the win. Vince stopped Dick Aversa in the first round, got a freebie in the semi’s when Mike LaRose had the misfortune of wounding his car in the first round, which then put him against Pro MX rider Keith Miller on his ’86 Suzuki in the final. Keith stopped Anthony Zangari in the first round and Heather Scheirer in the semis. In the final, Vince held a .532 to .590 reaction time advantage and that’s all he needed as he won with a 7.507 at 180.20 mph run on his 7.45 dial to stop Keith’s valiant 10.547 at 126.05 mph run on his 10.55 dial. Kevin Wuest was the Bike/Sled Trophy competitor in the race.
94ggrWe also held the rain delayed “Girls Gone Racing" at ESTA charity race where all of the entry fees are donated to D.R.A.W. to benefit injured racers and their families. The race was won by first timer Laura Bates who drove her ’01 GMC to the final round win over past winner April Martin who regularly races in our Pro class with her ’76 Dodge. Laura, who attended our time trial event last week to practice made it work as she cut a .534 reaction time and won with her 17.274 at 81.08 mph run on her 17.20 dial in. April ran closer to her 11.04 dial with an 11.050 at 120.31 mph, but her .612 light was the difference. Chrissy Klein was the semifinalist on her ’02 Polaris. Thanks to Jane Bersani for all of her efforts in organizing this race and to Sandy and Morgan Bunal giving her a hand on Sunday.

Super Pro

We also held the rain delayed Super Pro Challenge which paid out $1000 to the winner. Tom Belvick drive his ’04 S&W Chevy powered dragster to the win by stopping Heather Scheirer who also was driving a Chevy powered dragster. Tom had a great.507 light and ran a 7.910 at 160.92 mph on his 7.86 dial to take care of Heather’s .539 initiated, 8.322 at 161.37 mph run on her 8.29 dial. Billy Caprara and Tom Samsel were the semifinalists.

In Pro, Terry Lee drove his Chevy powered ’89 Mustang to the win by defeating Jeff Parker in his ’91 Camaro. Terry had a tenth at the tree with a .502 to .606 advantage and he ran a 10.790 at 124.34 mph on his 10.71 dial. Jeff settled for the runner up spot with a 10.349 at 130.73 mph run on his 10.35 prediction. Fausto Rioscolon was the semifinalist in his Sponge Bob '70 Cuda.

Pro MX
Chrissy Klein rode her ’02 Polaris to the Pro MX win when she was able to stop Sudsy Eastman on his ’00 Ski-doo. Chrissy held the reaction time advantage, .526 to .626 and she won with a 9.960 at 123.98 mph on her 9.95 dial. Sudsy ran under his 10.26 dial with a 10.179 at 123.37 mph runner up effort. Matt Luke was the semifinalist with his Suzuki.

Street Money

In Street Money, it was Todd Lipke in his ’70 Chevelle taking the win away from Steve English who was driving his ’82 Cutlass. Steve held the r.t. advantage .568 to.586, but he ran under his 13.12 dial with a 13.104 at 102.98 mph, while Todd ran right on his 12.02 with a 12.028 at 110.01 mph for the well deserved win. Matt Bunal and Shawn Manley were the semifinalists.

Modified was won by Fausto Rioscolon who drove his ’70 Plymouth to the final round win by stopping Joe DeVoe in his ’72 Chevelle. Reaction times were close with Fausto just edging Joe .551 to .558. Fausto ran a 10.243 at 128.56 mph on his 10.21 dial in, while Joe was right there with his 11.975 at 107.87 mph run on his 11.93 dial. Terry Scheirer was the semifinalist.

Street Trophy
Liz West drove her ’02 Trans Am to the Street Trophy win when she defeated Alex Cadwell in his ’69 Olds. Liz had a .688 light and ran a 12.513 at 107.60 mph on her 12.48 dial to defeat Alex who had a .788 light and ran under his 15.49 dial with a 15.474 at 86.70 mph runner up effort. Ted Lewis and Shawn Manley were the semifinalists.

94bsBike/Sled Trophy
Matt Luke
rode his ’05 Suzuki to the win today in the Bike/Sled Trophy class when he defeated Chrissy Klein who was on her ’02 Polaris. Matt held a .511 to .553 reaction time advantage and won with a 9.367 at 136.40 mph run on his 9.32 dial. Chrissy settled for the runner up spot with a 9.972 at 123.63 mph run on her 9.94 dial. Ryan Orizino was the semifinalist.

Jr. Dragster "A"
In Jr. Dragster “A” it was Shaquille Scott scoring the win when he stopped Kimberly Klein in the final round. Shaq held a slight .547 to .564 starting line advantage and he drilled his 8.12 dial in with an 8.129 at 78.80 mph to stop Kim’s 8.038 at 78.12 mph run on her 8.02 dial. Joshua Snyder was the semifinalist.

Jr. Dragster "B"
Jr. Dragster “B” racing action saw the other two racing Snyder’s face off against each other in the final round. Both Gracie and Jacob red lighted in their heads-up final, but Jacob had the more offensive foul .456 to .469 allowing Gracie to win with her 9.048 at 72.36 mph run on her 8.96 dial. Jacob was the runner up with a 9.017 at 73.70 mph run on his 8.96 dial.

That will do it for now. We’ll see you next week when we host our NYS Championship/National Dragster Challenge Race.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.

photos by LaPointe Photography


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Tom Belvick
'04 S&W
.507 7.910 / 160.92
R-Up Heather Scheirer
'01 Dragster
.539 8.322 / 161.37 8.29
Semis Billy Caprara
Tom Samsel


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Terry Lee
'89 Mustang
.502 10.790 / 124.34
R-Up Jeff Parker
'91 Camaro
.606 10.349 / 130.73
Semis Fausto Rioscolon
 '70 Cuda

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Chrissy Klein
02 Polaris
.526 9.960, 123.98
R-Up Sudsy Eastman
'00 Ski-Doo .626 10.179, 123.37
Semis Matt Luke
'05 Suzuki

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Todd Lipke
'70 Chevelle
.586 12.028, 110.01
R-Up Steve English
'82 Cutlass
.568 13.104, 102.98
Semis Matt Bunal
Shawn Manley


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Fausto Rioscolon
'70 Cuda
.551 10.243, 128.56
R-Up Joe DeVoe
'72 Chevelle  .558 11.975, 107.87
Semis Terry Scheirer

Street Trophy

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Liz West
'02 Trans AM
.541 12.513, 107.60
R-Up Alex Cadwell
'69 Olds
.639 15.474, 86.70
Semis Ted Lewis
Shawn Manley

Bike/Sled Trophy

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Matt Luke
'05 Suzuki
.511 9.367, 136.40
R-Up Chrissy Klein
'02 Polaris
.553 9.972, 123.63
Semis Ryan Orizino
 Arctic Cat

Junior Dragster "A"

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Shaquille Scott '08 Bos
.547 8.129, 78.80
R-Up Kimberly Klein '07 KCS .564 8.038, 78.12
Semis Joshua Snyder

Junior Dragster "B"

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Gracie Snyder
Halfscale .469 9.048, 72.36
R-Up Jacob Snyder
'04 Halfscale
.456 9.017, 73.70
Semis Casey BeDell
Chelsey Hancock

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures