Summit E.T. Racing Series - July 24th


Today we hosted the NHRA / ESTA Jr. Dragster Championship race as well as another of our Summit E.T. points series races. We had some hot temperatures and great racing action as we completed our 6th straight event. Here are the results.

Jr. Dragster "A"
Jr. Dragster “A” action saw Shaquille Scott drive his ’08 Mike Bos built Jr. Dragster to the win by stopping the red hot Kimberly Klein who was driving her KCS Jr. dragster. “Shaq” was .555 at the tree and ran an 8.007 at 79.95 mph on his 8.00 for the win. Kim went red with a .494 light and settled for the runner up spot with a 7.989 at 80.64 mph run on her 7.95 dial. Paige DeSalvo and Harley Hancock were the semifinalists.

jr_winnersJr. Dragster "B"
Paige Montgomery won the Jr. “B” class by stopping 2-time 2011 winner Ron Klein Jr. Ron had the better light with a .578 to .626 advantage, but at the 1/8 mile stripe Ron ran under his 9.15 dial with a 9.131 at 71.46 mph effort and Paige won with her right on the dial 9.027 at 71.64 mph. Jenna Lipke and Hunter Heppner were the semifinalists.

Jr. Dragster Shootout
Kimberly Klein made up for her Jr. "A" runner-up finish by bettering Taylor Duell in the special Jr. Dragster Shootout event and came home with a "Wally" for her efforts.

Super Pro
We ran Super Pro today In the 1/8 mile format with $2,000 up for grabs. We guaranteed $1,000 and the other $1,000 came from Billy Caprara and his car companies. Howie Smith walked off with the loot in his Chevy powered dragster stopping Tom Belvick in his similar powered dragster. Howie held a .512 to .544 r.t. advantage and ran a 4.680 at 149.99 on his 4.66 dial in, while Tom settled for the runner up spot with a 4.963 at 139.02 mph run on his 4.97 prediction. Rob Forbes was the semifinalist.

Pro MX
In Pro MX it was Keith Miller taking the win today stopping a red lighting Troy Liebi. Keith rode his ’86 Suzuki to a .670 initiated, 10.325 at 129.31 mph run on his 10.18 dial. Troy had a .488 foul and ran an 11.255 at 111.38 mph on his 11.07 dial in. Corrine Fidler was the semifinalist.

Street Money
Terry Lee drove his Chevy powered ’89 Mustang to the win in Street Money when Matt Bunal fouled away his chance driving his ’91 Camaro. Terry had a .523 light and ran a 10.677 at 125.40 mph run on his 10.68 dial. Matt went red with a .489 r.t. and had to settle for the runner up spot with a 12.683 at 108.13 mph run on his 12.67 dial. Steve English and Todd Minerd were the semifinalists.

In Modified, April Martin in her ’76 Dodge was able to hold off current points leader Heather Scheirer who was driving her Chevy powered dragster. Heather held a .551 to.584 starting line advantage, but ran further under her dial in with a 8.185 at 160.62 mph run on her 8.22 dial. April won with a 10.969 at 120.86 mph run on her 10.99 dial. Steve Luther was the semifinalist.

Street Trophy
In another double breakout race Dick Aversa won the Street Trophy class today when he stopped Ted Lewis in his ’86 Monte Carlo. Dick drove his ’07 Trailblazer to a .568 initiated, 12.736 at 104.45 mph run on his 12.75 dial. Ted had a .557 light and settled for the runner up spot with a 12.474 at 108.20 mph run on his 12.49. Diane Blaylock and Steve English were the semifinalists.

Bike/Sled Trophy
Bike / Sled Trophy was also another double breakout, and it was Carla Kitchen on her ’01 Arctic Cat defeating Matt Luke on his ’05 Suzuki. Carla held a slight .533 to .549 starting line edge and she ran a 9.866 at 125.64 mph on her 9.88 dial. Matt settled for the runner up with a 9.285 at 133.99 mph run on his 9.32 dial. Kevin Wuest was the semifinalist.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Howie Smith
.513 4.680 / 149.99
R-Up Tom Belvick
.544 4.963 / 139.02 4.97
Semis Rob Forbes        


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Allan Runions II
69 Pontiac
.631 11.082 / 114.53
R-Up Al Meier 67 Chevy
.603 11.434 / 115.14
Semis Mike LaRose

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Keith Miller
86 Suzuki
.670 10.325 / 129.31
R-Up Troy Liebi
Sled .488 11.255 / 111.38
Semis Corrine Fidler

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Terry Lee
89 Mustang .523 10.677 / 125.40
R-Up Matt Bunal
91 Camaro
.489 12.683 / 108.13
Semis Steve English
Todd Minerd 


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win April Martin
76 Dodge
.584 10.969 / 120.86
R-Up Heather Scheirer
Dragster  .551 8.185 / 160.62
Semis Steve Luther

Street Trophy

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Dick Aversa
07 Chevy
.568 12.736 / 104.45
R-Up Ted Lewis
86 Chevy .557 12.474 / 108.20
Semis Diane Blaylock
Steve English 

Bike/Sled Trophy

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Carla Kitchen
01 Arctic Cat
.533 9.866 / 125.64
R-Up Matt Like
05 Suzuki
.549 9.285 / 133.99
Semis Kevin Wuest

Junior Dragster "A"

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Shaquille Scott
08 Bos .555 8.007 / 79.95 8.01
R-Up Kimberly Klein KCS .494 7.989 / 80.64
Semis Paige DeSalvo
Harley Hancock 

Junior Dragster "B"

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Paige Montgomery Bos .626 9.027 / 71.64
R-Up Ron Klein Jr. KCS .578 9.131 / 71.46
Semis Jenna Lipke
Hunter Heppner

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures