Summit E.T. Racing Series - July 10th


After a horrible start to our 2011 season we now have managed 4 in a row with today’s Pro MX Showdown taking the spotlight. Here is how the action went on July 10th.

Pro MX
In Pro MX it was Jeff DeSellems on his ’06 Ski-Doo taking on our own Tech guy Cory Bingel who was making his first race appearance of the season on his ’04 Suzuki. Jeff drilled the tree with his telepathic .502 and ran 9.402 at 118.44 mph run on his 9.35 dial in to turn back Cory who had a .536 light and settled for the runner up spot with a slightly too quick 8.360 at 153.45 mph run on his 8.38 dial in. John Kufhta and Keith Miller were the semifinalists. Jeff took home the $600 in his winning effort.

Super Pro
In Super Pro it was James Smith Jr. taking on Vince Musolino in a clash of big block Chevy powered dragsters. Jamie had the reaction time advantage .511 to .530 and he was able to hold on with a 7.644 at 168.56 mph run on his 7.63 dial to snare the win. Vince was right there with his 7.392 at 174.30 mph runner up effort run on his 7.37 dial in. Billy Caprara and Kenny Taylor were the semifinalists.

Don Austin won the Pro class today in his ’79 Firebird when he stopped Matt Bunal who was driving his ’91 Camaro. Don held a slight starting line advantage .549 to .568 and he was able to “peddle” his car a bit better running 11.122 at 108.66 mph run on his 10.98 prediction. Matt was also peddling and had to settle for the runner up spot with a 12.877 at 102.49 mph run on his 12.70 dial in. Mike LaRose was stopped by Matt in the semi’s.

7-10_StreetMoneywinnerStreet Money
Street Money was won once again by Howard Roberts who drove his ’75 Plymouth around Anthony Rotolo who was in his ’72 Nova. Howard took the win by running 12.028 at 102.52 mph on his 11.96 dial while Anthony took home the runner up cash with a 13.524 at 99.74 mph run on his 13.45 dial. Howard had a .515 light to Anthony’s equally impressive .525. Matt Bunal and Steve English were the semifinalists.

Terry Scheirer ran all alone in the Modified final after Jay Dana broke his car and could not make the call for the final round. Terry clicked it off and cruised to the win. Allan Runions Jr. and Heather Scheirer were the semifinalists.

Street Trophy
Dick Aversa drove his ’07 Trailblazer to another Street Trophy win today when he defeated Scott Wilbur in his ’08 Chevy. Dick had a huge r.t. advantage .525 to .793 and won easily with a 12.816 at 92.63 mph run on his 12.77 dial in. Scott runner upped with a 12.340 at 114.76 mph run on his 12.29 dial. Steve English was the semifinalist.

7-10_ModWinnerBike/Sled Trophy
Luke Woodward on his ’05 Arctic Cat took the Bike / Sled Trophy class win by defeating Ryan Orizino who was on his ’96 ‘Cat. Luke won with a .561 initiated 10.568 at 121.68 mph run on his 10.54 dial in. Ryan had to settle for the runner up spot with a .562 r.t. and running 10.394 at 115.60 mph on his 10.35 dial. Kevin Wuest and Rick Fies were the semifinalists.

Jr. Dragster "A"
Justin Hardman took the Jr. Dragster ”A” win today by defeating Shaquille Scott in the final round. Justin took a stab at the tree and it came up green with a .504 and he cruised to a 8.051 at 76.77 mph run on his 7.92 dial in. “Shaq” had a .588 light and took the runner up spot with a 8.085 at 78.48 mph run on his 8.00 dial. Harley Hancock was the semifinalist.

Jr. Dragster "B"
Ron Klein Jr. scored for the 2nd straight week in the Jr. Dragster “B” class by stopping Gracie Snyder in the final round. Both drivers were good at the tree with Ron holding a very small .534 to .536 advantage and he ran 9.170 at 70.97 mph on his 9.09 dial to hold back Gracie’s 9.004 at 72.22 mph run on his 8.90 dial in. Kiersten and Chelsey Hancock were the semifinalists.

We also would like to offer our condolences to the Ballard family. Don Ballard who worked for us as a medic passed away on Friday. Don was a great person who helped us in many ways and it was a pleasure to have known and worked with him. 

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.

Photos courtesy of Paul LaPointe


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win James Smith Jr.
.511 7.644 / 168.56
R-Up Vince Musolino
.530 7.392 / 174.30 7.37
Semis Billy Caprara
Ken Taylor 


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Don Austin
79 Firebird
.549 11.122 / 108.66
R-Up Matt Bunal 91 Camaro
.568 12.877 / 102.49
Semis Mike LaRose

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Jeff DeSellems
06 Ski-Doo
.502 9.402 / 118.44
R-Up Cory Bingel
04 Suzuki .536 8.360 / 153.45
Semis John Kufhta
Keith Miller

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Howard Roberts
75 Plymouth .515 12.028 / 102.52
R-Up Anthony Rotolo
72 Chevy
.525 13.524 / 99.74
Semis Matt Bunal
Steve English 


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Terry Scheirer
.890 Shutoff
R-Up Jay Dana
75 Chevy   Broke
Semis Heather Scheirer
Allan Runions Jr.

Street Trophy

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Dick Aversa
07 Chevy
525 12.816 / 92.63
R-Up Scott Wilbur
08 Chevy .793 12.340 / 114.76
Semis Steve English


Bike/Sled Trophy

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Luke Woodward
05 Arctic Cat
.561 10.568 / 121.68
R-Up Ryan Orizino
96 Arctic Cat
.562 10.394 / 115.60
Semis Kevin Wuest
Rick Fies

Junior Dragster "A"

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Justin Hardman
03 Jr. Drsgster .504 8.051 / 76.77 7.97
R-Up Shaquile Scott 08 Mike Bos .588 8.085 / 78.48
Semis Harley Hancock        

Junior Dragster "B"

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Ron Klein Jr. 09 KCS .534 9.170 / 70.97
R-Up Gracie Snyder Jr. Dragster
8.985 / 72.22
Semis Kiersten Hancock
Chelsey Hancock

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures