Talmadge, Reilly, Bingel, and Bunal Close Out Points Season With Pro Wins -- Hardman Wins Fourth Straight

We had a cold start to the final Summit E.T. Series Points day of our 50th season, but the sun warmed things up quite nicely and we had a great day for drag racing. Due to wet conditions at the end of the track we were forced to run in the 1/8 mile mode once again. Here’s how the points season wrapped up.

In Super Pro it was Mark Talmadge in his ’75 Vega taking the win over racing buddy Chuck White who was in his ’74 Hornet. Chuck held the reaction time advantage .505 to .531 but he ran off his 6.80 dial with a 6.916 at 98.04 mph, settling for his second straight runner up finish. Mark won it with a 6.296 at 102.74 mph run on his 6.25 dial in. Steve Doss and Bob Belvick were the semifinalists.

Eddie Reilly drove his ’63 Falcon to the Pro win when he stopped new points champ Howard Roberts who was driving his ’72 Duster. Eddie won the close one with a .534 initiated 6.154 at 110.27 mph run on his 6.13 dial. Howard had to settle for the runner up spot with his 6.102 at 112.80 mph run on his 6.09 dial, Howard’s r.t was .549. Mike LaRose was the semifinalist.

In Pro MX, Herb Bingel didn’t race all that much this year but when he did he made them count as he made it to the final round every time, winning twice and being the runner up twice. Herb on his ’98 Ski-Doo won this one with a .542 light and he ran 6.810 at 96.78 mph on his 6.82 dial. Skip Tamburino on his ’77 Kawasaki fouled and threw away his 5.983 at 113.41 mph run on his 5.94 dial in. Keith Miller and Sudsy Eastman were the semifinalists.

The Street Money final was a great one that saw Matt Bunal in his ’91 Camaro defeat current and repeating points champ Anthony Zangari who was driving his ’99 Camaro. Both drivers were razor sharp at the tree with Anthony holding a slim .503 to .513 advantage, but he ran off his 7.55 dial in with a 7.594 at 91.47 mph effort. Matt took the win with a 7.984 at 80.35 mph run on his 7.97 dial in. Adam Carlson and Todd Minerd were the semifinalists.

Ken Miller drove his ’72 Maverick to the Modified win stopping Jason Schultz in his ’78 Dodge. Ken drilled the tree with a .507 and ran 6.772 at 99.97 mph on his 6.74 dial while Jason settled for the runner up spot with his .579 initiated 6.685 at 101.87 mph run on his 6.67 dial. Myles Higby was the semifinalist.

The Street Trophy final saw two first time finalists battle it out as Liz West in her ’02 Firebird took on Bruce Freeman in his ’09 Dodge. Bruce took the win with a .692 initiated 8.922 at 81.87 mph run on his 8.86 dial. Liz had a .688 light and ran 8.490 at 85.87 mph on her 8.41 dial to take the runner up honors. Bud Brown was the semifinalist.

The Bike / Sled Trophy final came down to Jose Cortes on his ’99 Kawasaki and Sudsy Eastman on his ’00 Ski-Doo. Jose won this one when Sudsy lit the red light. Jose had a .585 light and ran 6.702 at 106.37 mph run on his 6.65 dial. Sudsy had a .492 foul and ran 6.233 at 106.14 mph on his 6.22 dial in the runner up effort. Kevin Wuest was the semifinalist.

Justin Hardman continued his domination of the Jr.Dragster “A” class today by winning his 4th straight race and capturing the Points title as well. Justin defeated Carter Helch in the final round with a .553 r.t. and by running 8.021 at 81.35 mph on his 7.99 dial in. Carter had a .600 light and had to settle for the runner up spot with an 8.010 at 80.21 mph run on his 8.03 dial. Kim Klein and Shaquille Scott were the semifinalists.

In Jr. Dragster “B” class action it was Shannon Harrison driving her Jr. Dragster to the win with a .553 light and running 9.170 at 66.56 mph on her 9.03 dial. Harley Hancock was the runner up with a .711 light and by went 9.083 at 70.08 mph run on her 9.05 dial. Jacob Snyder was the semifinalist and also won the points chase.

That will do it for the Points Season events. We have three scheduled weeks of races remaining featuring a Box / No Box money race, a Trophy Class, Jr. Dragsters and time trials. See you there.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.



ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures