Quick 8, Stock / Super Stock and King of The Track Highlight ESTA Action

We were very busy at ESTA today as we hosted the NHRA King of the Track Event, The Seaboard Graphics Quick 8, The Stock / Super Stock race along with all or our Summit E.T. Series classes. High winds forced us to make this an 1/8 mile event but the action was till very exciting.

In the Seaboard Graphics Heads Up Quick 8 race it was #1 qualifier Bob Frigon driving his ’00 Spitzer, Competition Wedge powered supercharged dragster to the win. In the other lane it was #2 qualifier Brian White in his Freeman Farms / White’s Auto & Speed ’01 Dodge bodied supercharged funny car. Both drivers fouled on the .400 pro tree but Brian bulbed first with a .387 to .397 and threw away his 4.113 at 174.31 mph pass and settled for the runner up spot. Bob won it with a great 4.074 at 179.25 mph run. Last year’s winner Gary Antinora in his dragster and Adam O’Connel in his dragster were the semifinalists.

We also hosted our Stock / Super Stock race and the cars in attendance thrilled everyone with their wheel stand starts and side by side competition. In the final it was Bill Baker in his ’85 Camaro stocker taking on Ken Basset who was driving his ’69 Camaro super stocker. Billy drilled the tree in the final and held a .518 to .600 reaction time advantage and he parlayed that into a winning 7.485 at 86.19 mph run on his 7.43 dial while Ken settled for the runner up spot with a 6.284 at 107.41 mph run on his 6.28 dial. DJ Raiser was the semifinalist in Barry Raichlins ’55 Chevy.

In the King of the Track race which pitted all of our #1 points earners up to this point, it was Super Pro racer Scott Forbes in his ’94 Sonoma defeating Street Money standout Anthony Zangari in his ’99 Camaro. This one was over right at the start as Anthony fouled with a .471 light and ran 7.514 at 93.14 mph on his 7.53 dial. Scott won it with a 6.491 at 105.86 mph run on his 6.51 dial. Howard Roberts was the semifinalist.

James Smith Jr. wheeled his Big Block Chevy powered dragster to the Super Pro win when he defeated Mike LaRose who was driving his ’69 Dodge. Jamie had a .519 r.t. and drilled his 4.86 dial with a 4.868 at 144.28 mph run. Mike bulbed with a .495 light and ran 6.595 at 102.77 mph on his 6.57 dial. Last week’s winner Eric Bunal was a semifinalist as was Howard Roberts.

In Pro, Bryan Backus drove his ’82 Olds to the win by running right on his 5.75 dial in with a 5.759 at 116.91 mph. Mike LaRose had to settle for his second runner up of the day as he ran just under his 6.58 dial with an 6.575 at 101.58 mph pass. Mike had the r.t. advantage .519 to .558. Fausto Rioscolon was the semifinalist.

Pro MX action saw Sudsy Eastman ride his ’00 Ski-Doo to the win when Melissa Cerio fouled on her ’98 Arctic Cat. Sudsy had a .561 light and ran 6.396 at 105.18 mph on his 6.27 dial while Melissa fouled with a .475 and took the runner up spot with a 6.165 at 111.94 mph run on her 6.12 dial. Keith Miller and Jim Collins both on Suzuki’s were the semifinalists.

Street Money was won by Anthony Rotolo in his ’72 Nova stopping Paul Marie who was in his ’78 Chevy. Anthony had a .613 light and ran 8.563 at 72.13 mph on his 8.52 dial. Paul took the runner up spot with a .699 initiated 8.431 at 82.28 mph run on his 8.41 dial. Howie Conklin and Todd Minerd were the semifinalists.

In Street Trophy it was Dick Aversa driving his ’07 TrailBlazer to another win when he stopped John Isgar who was driving his ’36 Ford Street Rod. Dick had a .656 light and ran 8.225 at 71.98 mph on his 8.05 dial for the win. John drilled his 9.70 dial with a 9.706 at 69.12 mph but his .969 r.t. was his undoing. Carl Scarano was the semifinalist.

Sudsy Eastman scored his second win of the day in Bike / Sled Trophy as he rode his ’00 Ski-Doo in the final round defeating Rick Fies who was on his ’06 Suzuki. Sudsy held a .524 to .571 r.t. advantage and he ran 6.422 at 105.43 mph on his 6.37 dial while Rick settled for the runner up spot with a 5.720 at 120.66 mph run on his 5.71 dial in. Kevin Wuest was the semifinalist.

Two of the Jr. Dragster “A” classes top points earners squared off in the final round today when Justin Hardman defeated Morgan Bunal. Justin had a stout .509 to Morgan’s decent .606 r.t. advantage and he ran 8.101 at 78.02 mph on his 7.98 dial while Morgan ran 8.036 at 78.78 mph on her 7.98 dial in for the runner up sot. Shaquille Scott was the semifinalist.

In Jr. “B” it was Kiersten Hancock taking the win when Joshua Snyder lit the red light. Kiersten had a .715 light and ran 11.174 at 56.67 mph on her 11.00 dial. Joshua fouled with a .467 bulb and ran 9.156 at 72.00 mph on his 9.08 dial in. Harley Hancock was the semifinalist.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.
• Photos courtesy BK Digital Imaging
Quick 8 Winner circle photo by LaPointe Photography

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures