Mulder Brothers Take PT Cruiser / MOPAR Showdown -Roberts Wins Super Pro

The heat was on this Memorial Day weekend as the racers on hand had to deal with the highest track temps. So far this year. A special thanks to all the serviceman and women in the armed forces that continue to fight for our freedom. Here is a recap of the racing action.

In Super Pro it was Tim Roberts in his Monte Carlo stopping Scott Forbes who was driving last season’s championship winning ’94 Sonoma. Scott held the reaction time advantage .517 to .532 but he ran under his 10.36 dial by one thousandth of a second with a 10.359 at 127.43 mph allowing Tim to score his first win of the season with a 9.201 at 146.11 mph run on his 9.17 dial. Ron Calhoun was the semifinalist.

Mike LaRose Jr. joined his father as a Pro winner this year as he won another close final round by stopping Orville Wilcox who was in his ’87 Mustang. Mike had a .546 r.t. and ran 11.1502 at 119.64 mph on his 11.17 dial to stop Orville who had .523 light but ran just one thousandth of a second further under his 11.04 dial with an 11.0201 at 121.93 mph runner up effort. Myles Higby was the semifinalist.

The Pro MX class was won this week by Jesse McCombie on his ’01 Ski-Doo when he stopped Heath Smith who was riding his borrowed Ski-Doo. Jesse had a great .504 r.t. and ran 10.361 at 120.63 mph on his 10.35 dial while Heath had to be content with the runner up spot with a .517 initiated 9.977 at 119.39 mph run on his 10.00 dial. Kevin Wuest was the semifinalist.

Todd Lipke pulled off the well earned Street Money win driving his ’70 Chevelle around Howie Conklin who was in his ’65 Chevy. Todd had .593 to .605 r.t. advantage and he ran 11.832 at 104.65 mph on his 11.79 dial while Howie ran 13.119 at 103.17 mph on his 13.07 dial for the runner up spot. Dick Aversa and Shawn Manley were the semifinalists.

The Modified final was over right at the start as Fausto Rioscolon in his ’72 ‘Cuda fouled with a .472 red light handing the win to Myles Higby in his ’69 Dodge. Myles had a .600 light and ran 11.551 at 113.93 mph on his 11.52 dial. Fausto ran 9.94 at 133.92 mph on his 9.92 dial in. Terry Scheirer and Joe Gagliano were the semifinalists.

Reigning Street Trophy champ Dick Aversa drove his ’07 SS TrailBlazer to the Street Trophy win when he stopped Nataliee Dodson in her ’76 Pontiac. Dick had a .590 to .685 r.t. advantage and he never looked back taking the win with a 13.103 at 92.05 mph run on his 12.98 dial while Nataliee ran 12.477 at 117.16 mph run on her 12.09 dial. Kim Rossitter and Jacob DeSautels were the semifinalists.

Bike / Sled Trophy was won by Sudsy Eastman who was driving his ’00 Ski-Doo. Sudsy had a .575 light and ran 10.080 at 118.05 mph on his 10.02 dial to defeat Skip Tamburino on his ’77 Kawasaki. Skip had a .591 light but ran off his 9.53 dial with a 9.902 at 133.56 mph to settle for the runner up spot. Kevin Wuest and Nick Washburn were the semifinalists.

In the P/T Cruiser / Mopar Showdown it was two brothers from Ringwood, NJ wheeling into ESTA and taking home the trophies. Brian Mulder in his ’04 P/T was able to defeat Jason Mulder who was in his ’03 P/T Cruiser. Brian held the r.t. advantage .786 to .890 and he ran 14.857 at 93.39 mph on his 14.60 dial to defeat Jason who ran 14.648 at 93.31 mph run on his 14.30 dial in. Steve Lowery was the semifinalist.

The Jr. Dragster “A” class saw Justin Hardman in his ’03 Motivational pick up his second win of the season when he stopped Paige DeSalvo in her ’10 Halfscale. Both drivers played it safe at the tree with Justin edging Paige .610 to .661 and that was enough as he won the close final round with a 7.961 at 79.06 mph run on his 7.95 dial while Paige had to settle for the runner up spot with a dial in matching 7.900 at 79.94 mph pass. Kimberly Klein was the semifinalist.

Kyle Reynolds won the Jr. Dragster “B” class stopping Casey BeDell in the final round. Kyle held the r.t. advantage .545 to .605 and he ran 9.056 at 70.51 mph on his 9.00 dial while Casey ran under his 9.05 dial with an 8.960 at 72.81 mph runner up effort. Shannon Harrison was the semifinalist.

That’s it for now. We had some very close final rounds this week so stop out next week as the Summit E.T. Series continues.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures