50th Anniversary Season Begins! - Scheirer, Roberts, Poland & Zangari Score Pro Wins

Today May 2, we started our 50th Anniversary season of NHRA drag racing. All the racers in attendance were trying to get out to an early start in the Summit E.T. points series. Here is the recap of Sunday’s action.

In Super Pro the final round came down to defending Series champ Scott Forbes in his familiar ’94 Sonoma taking on Terry Scheirer who was driving his newly acquired dragster. In a race decided by .009 it was Terry taking home the win with his .509 initiated 7.816 at 167.24 mph run on his 7.81 dial just nipping Scott’s equally impressive .519 initiated 10.446 at 128.65 mph run on his 10.44 dial. A great final round to get the season started. Joey LaRose and Tim Roberts were the semifinalists.

In Pro it was Howard Roberts in his ’72 Plymouth stopping Bob Mayers who parked his street roadster in favor of a ’68 Camaro. Howard cut a .562 light and ran a 9.666 at 139.43 mph on his 9.63 dial, while Bob fouled with a .479 red light and ran a 9.81 at 134.74 mph on his 9.71 dial. Dave Tingley was the semifinalist.

In our newly merged Pro MX class where we combined the former Pro Bike & Pro Sled classes it was Ron Poland on his ’97 Yamaha stopping a red lighting Jeff DeSellems who was on his ’06 Ski-doo. Ron had a .652 light and ran right on his 12.15 dial with a 12.156 at 102.01 mph, while Jeff fouled with a .435 and ran a 9.323 at 130.11 mph on his 9.22 dial. Jeff Cerio was the semifinalist.

The Street Money final round came down to two of the class regulars Anthony Zangari in his ’99 Camaro and Dick Aversa in his ’07 Trailblazer SS squaring off for the cash. Anthony had this one all the way as he won with a .543 r.t. and ran an 11.964 at 111.17 mph on his 11.95 dial while Dick had to settle for the runner up spot with a .602 initiated, 13.063 at 101.52 mph run on his 13.09 dial. Theodore Lewis and Ron Tingley were the semifinalists.

In Modified Becca Searles scored her first "large car" win driving her ’86 Mustang when shedefeated Tim Aceto in his ’86 Camaro. Beccahad a .525 light and ran a 13.220 at 102.94 mph on her 13.28 dial. Tim lit the red light andran a 10.621 at 127.11 mph on his 10.57 dial. Kim Rogge was the semifinalist.

Carl Scarano drove his ’07 TrailBlazer SS to the Street Trophy win stopping a red lighting Clarence Spady who was in his ’90 Honda. Bud Brown and Shawn Manley were the semifinalists.

Sudsy Eastman rode his ’00 Ski-doo to the Bike/Sled Trophy win stopping John Kuhfta on his ’89 Polaris. Sudsy had a .558 to .704 starting line advantage and won with a 10.273 at 114.47 mph on his 10.28 dial, while John ran further under his 11.85 dial with an 11.704 at 106.69 mph run. Kevin Wuest was the semifinalist on his Tri-Village Automotive Polaris.

In Jr. Dragster action it was Taylor Duell scoring the “A” Class win defeating Morgan Bunal in the final round. Taylor had a .559 light and won with a 8.072 at 79.74 mph run on her 8.02 dial while Morgan settled for the runner up spot with her .613 initiated 7.990 at 80.65 mph run on her 7.90 dial. Last year’s “B” champ, Jake Lipke, was the semifinalist.

In Jr. Dragster “B” class action it was Gracie Snyder getting off to a great start as she wrapped up the win by defeating a fouling RJ Budd. Gracie had a .640 r.t. and ran a 13.239 at 48.08 mph on her 12.99 dial, while RJ ran a 9.089 at 63.82 mph on his 8.90 dial. Kiersten Hancock was the semifinalist.

That’ll do it for now. We had a great day to start our 50th season. Stop out to participate or just watch, this should be a great season. See you at the drags.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures