Wally Returns! 2009 NYS Championships

Today we hosted our Annual NYS Championship / National Dragster Challenge event and with over 300 entries it was a very exciting day of NHRA style drag racing. Here is a recap of the action:

In Super Pro, it was Mike Dote driving one of his dragsters to snatch the win away from Mark Talmadge who was in his ’75 Vega. Mark held the reaction time advantage .525 to .558, but he ran under his 9.67 dial with a 9.660 at 137.58 mph runner-up pass. Mike scored the win and the “Wally’ with his 7.794 at 173.00 mph run on his 7.73 dial. Chuck Fish and Jim Cirigliano were the semifinalists.

In the Pro final it came down to a battle between the current 1st and 2nd place points earners as Rob Forbes in his ’93 S-10 squared off against Howard Roberts in his Competition Wedge prepared ’72 Duster. This one was over fast as unfortunately for Howard he pushed the tree too hard and came up with a .498 red light negating his 9.639 at 139.74 mph run on his 9.62 dial. Rob had a safe .568 light and ran a 10.532 at 126.13 mph on his 10.54 dial to capture the lucrative win. Mike LaRose Jr. and Theodore Lewis were the semifinalists.

Just about every time Freddie Jacobs brings his ’91 Suzuki out to compete this season he seems to win and today was no different as he grabbed the Pro Bike win defeating Jeff Strickler who was on his ’07 Suzuki. Fred had a telepathic .504 light and won with a 10.03 at 125.42 mph run on his 9.90 dial. Jeff missed the tree with a .842 light and took the runner up spot with a 9.52 at 127.45 mph run on his 9.48 dial. Anthony McKeen and Cliff Cronk were the semifinalists.

In Pro Sled it was Dennis Boston on his ’03 Ski-doo stopping recent King of The Track winner Ron Smith who was riding his ’01 Arctic Cat. Dennis put together a terrific final round pass as he started with a .532 reaction and ran right on his 9.82 dial with a 9.828 at 127.15 mph. Ron had a .595 light and ran under his 9.40 dial with a 9.355 at 135.10 mph runner up pass. Kevin Wuest was the semifinalist on his Tri-Village Automotive Polaris.

Todd Minerd
drove his ’85 S-10 to the Street Money win when he was able to stop Ryan Beckwith who was in his ’85 Pontiac. Todd used a .568 to .625 starting line advantage to win with a 15.671 at 83.21 mph run on his 15.55 dial, while Ryan had to settle for the runner up spot with a breakout 14.325 at 93.73 mph run on his 14.33 dial. Dan Hayes and Josh Speck were the semifinalists.


The last of the “Wally” trophies was handed out in Modified and it went to Mark Dobie driving his ’68 Nova as he was able to take the win away from Steve Doss who was driving his Camaro. Steve held the reaction time advantage .530 to .604, but ran just under his 11.50 dial with an 11.491 at 116.19 mph run which was just .001 more under than Mark’s 10.112 at 133.07 mph run on his 10.12 dial in. Darin Buchanan was the semifinalist.

The other classes got the special “Tree” style trophies and in Street Trophy it was Street Money runner up Ryan Beckwith taking the win matching his 14.33 dial with a 14.335 at 95.62mph. Wade Willat in his ’02
Mazda had a .562 to .669 r.t. advantage, but ran under his 18.72 dial with a heartbreaking 18.715 at 68.93 mph runner up effort. John Joyce was the semifinalist.

Sudsy Eastman rode his ’98 Ski-doo to the Bike/Sled win after he stopped Pro Bike winner Freddie Jacobs. Sudsy had a .563 light and won with a 10.337 at 108.66 mph run on his 10.27 dial in. Fred had a .590 light and took the runner up spot with a 10.103 at 134.30 mph run on his 9.90 dial. Kevin Wuest and Jeff Cerio were the semifinalists.

The Jr. Dragster gang also ran for the special “Tree” trophies and in the “A” class it was the “Head Hunter” Hunter Woodcock taking on this year’s hottest driver and recent Division 1 class winner Mike Reynolds. Mike has pretty much had his way this year at ESTA, but Hunter was ready for him today and strapped a .512 to .607 reaction time advantage on him and ran a 7.914 at 81.68 mph on his 7.90 dial, while Mike ran an 8.036 at 76.45 mph on his 7.98 dial for the runner up effort. Taylor Duell was the semifinalist.

Jake “The Snake” Lipke took the Jr. Dragster “B” win today when he stopped Alexa Pedersen in the final round. Jake got off to the starting line advantage with a .545 to .632 edge and ran a 9.109 at 72.32 mph on his 9.12 dial to score the coveted win. Alexa had a .632 light and ran further under her 9.03 prediction with an 8.913 at 72.69 mph runner up pass. Jacob Snyder and Ron Klein Jr. were the semifinalists.

That will do it for now. Drive safe and we’ll see you at the drags. Click below for boxscores!

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures