Ron Smith Wins 2009 KOT Crown -- G3 Retains Stock/SS Title

Sunday, September 6 - We had a perfect day for drag racing today
as we hosted the NHRA King of the Track Event, the National Parts Peddler Stock/Super Stock Challenge as well as a regular E.T. race. With over 260 race vehicles entered it was an extremely busy day. Here is the rundown.

The annual NHRA King of The Track event, which pits each of our #1 class points leaders against each other for a chance at the coveted NHRA “Wally” trophy, was won by Ron Smith on his ’01 Arctic Cat which he races weekly in Pro sled. Ron was finally able to wrestle away the trophy from a Super Pro competitor when he was able to defeat current Super Pro points man Scott Forbes who was in his ’93 Sonoma. Scott held the reaction time advantage .514 to .579, but ran further under his 10.21 dial with a 10.172 at 128.19 mph run, while Ron captured the win with a less offending 9.307 at 138.47 mph run on his 9.31 dial in. Fausto Rioscolon and Anthony Zangari were the semifinalists.

For the third straight year hired gun Gene Stankivitz III was able to drive Barry Raichilin’s SS/PA ’55 Chevy to the National Parts Peddler Stock/Super Stock Challenge win defeating a stellar field of competitors. In the final round Marty Bernard, driving his P/SA ’66 Chevy Biscayne leaned on the tree just a tad too hard and came up with a .494 red light to settle for the runner up spot running a 12.30 at 105.63 mph on his 12.40 dial in. Gene had a .545 light and ran an 11.784 at 111.31 mph on his 11.80 dial in. Howard Smith in his M/SA ’80 Chevy and Mark Capellupo in his E/SA ’70 Olds 442 were the semifinalists.

In Super Pro it was Gary Donadio driving his father Al’s ’68 Camaro to the win stopping Rich Dorr who was driving his ’02 Chevy powered dragster. Gary had a .540 light and ran an 8.853 at 149.92 mph on his 8.84 dial to snatch the win away from Dorr. Rich had a better .525 light, but ran under his 8.13 dial in with an 8.119 at 162.56 mph runner up effort. Gene Stankivitz was the semifinalist in his '67 Chevy II.

Mike LaRose Jr. driving his ’72 Dodge took the win in Pro defeating Jeff Parker who was driving his ’85 Camaro. The reaction times were close with Mike holding the edge .536 to .548 and he ran an 11.621 at 113.01 mph on his 11.60 dial, while Jeff ran a 10.589 at 126.87 mph on his 10.53 dial in the runner up effort. Vito Raineri and Bob Mayers were the semifinalists.

Pro Bike was won by Jeff Strickler who rode his ’07 Suzuki to the win stopping David Ashby on his ’93 Kawasaki. David held the reaction advantage, .644 to .668, but ran off his 13.89 dial with a 13.981 at 89.82 mph while Jeff nearly matched his 9.33 dial with a 9.345 at 139.87 mph winning pass. Cliff Cronk was the semifinalist on his Kawasaki.

In Pro Sled, Kevin Wuest rode his ’01 Polaris to the win by defeating Nick Washburn who was on his ’02 Ski-doo. Kevin won with a .579 initiated, dial-matching 10.047 at 118.43 mph to stop Nick’s .667 initiated, 9.798 at 129.02 mph run on his 9.75 dial. Jeff Cerio and Heath Smith were the semifinalists.

Michael Wilson drove his ’93 Pontiac to the win in Street Money action when he stopped Todd Minerd who was in his ’85 S-10. Mike had a .595 light and ran a 12.042 at 110.33 mph on his 11.99 dial, while Todd runner upped with a .610 light and ran a 15.571 at 83.45 mph on his 15.58 dial. Scott Wilbur was the semifinalist.

Darin Buchanan drove his ’67 Plymouth to the Modified win using a .531 to .569 starting line advantage and running a 9.218 at 144.20 mph on his 9.17 dial in. Steve Makepeace drove his ’69 Nova to the runner up spot with an 11.629 at 114.18 mph run on his 11.58 dial. Kim Rogge and Brett VanBrocklin were the semifinalists.

Steve English drove his ’82 Cutlass to the Street Trophy win when Dick Aversa fouled driving his ’09 Pontiac G8. Steve had a .553 light and ran a 13.840 at 96.33 mph on his 13.80 dial. Dick had a.492 red light and ran a 12.828 at 108.73 mph on his 12.80 dial in the runner up effort. Bud Brown was the semifinalist.

Herb Bingel III rode his ’98 Ski-doo to the Bike/Sled Combo win after Jeff Cerio fouled on his Arctic Cat. Herb had a .654 light and ran a 10.942 at 113.29 mph on his 10.98 dial. Jeff had a .473 red light and ran a 9.275 at 138.30 mph on his 9.36 dial in. Rick Fies was the semifinalist on his DKN Racing Suzuki.

Jr. Dragster “A” action saw Mike Reynolds dominate the action again, this time defeating Justin Hardman in the final round. Mike held a slight starting line advantage .551 to .568 and he won it with a 7.908 at 84.08 mph run on his 7.93 dial while Justin ran further under his 7.90 dial with a 7.855 at 83.19 mph runner up effort. Birthday girl Taylor Duell was a semifinalist as was Shaquille Scott.

Jr. Dragster “B” saw Mike’s younger brother Kyle Reynolds take the win by defeating Dunham Hall in the final round. Kyle had a .582 light and ran an 8.987 at 72.26 mph run on his 8.97 dial while Dunham fouled with a .435 reaction and wasted his 8.978 at 72.68 mph run on his 8.96 dial. That could have been a close photo finish had Dunham stayed green for that run! Alexa Pedersen and Tyler BeDell were the semifinalists.

That will wrap up today’s action. We’ll see you next week for our annual NYS Championship /National Dragster Challenge event. Top payouts for our Pro classes and Wally trophies.

Pete DeSalvo Jr.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures