Mike Reynolds Scores the Double -- Jenna Lipke Scores Her First Win at Jr. Dragster Challenge

Today we held our annual ESTA / NHRA Jr. Dragster Challenge event along with a special “Young Guns Shootout” which pitted all the Jr. Dragster drivers into one eliminator. We also had a normal NPP point’s day for our other classes.

Mike Reynolds made his way down from Canada and had his way with the Jr. Dragster bunch today as he was able to win the Jr. “A” class as well as the Shootout going 9 straight rounds unbeaten. In the “A” final he stopped Shaquille Scott with a .550 initiated 7.995 at 82.88 mph run on his 7.95 dial. “Shaq” was right there with his .576 r.t. but he ran under his 8.04 dial with an 8.038 at 79.38 mph runner up effort. Nicole Woodcock was the semifinalist.

In the Jr. “B” class it was tiny Jenna Lipke making her way through the 16 car field and defeating Joshua Snyder in the final. Jenna used a great .536 reaction time and ran 13.187 at 48.38 mph on her 13.11 dial to score her first win, this is also Jenna’s first season of competition. Joshua had to settle for the runner up spot with his .693 light and 8.968 at 74.76 mph run on his 8.90 dial in. Kimberly Klein and Shannon Harrison were the semifinalists.

On to the “Young Guns Shootout” which was a repeat of the “A” class final round. Once again Michael Reynolds flexed his muscles and was able to handle Shaquille Scott with a .533 to .595 starting line advantage and Mike won it with a 7.967 at 80.94 mph run on his 7.95 dial to sweep today’s action. Shaq ran right on his 8.04 dial with an 8.044 at 79.62 mph effort. Congrat’s to both of these Young Guns and their crews for having a terrific day of racing. Taylor Duell seems to have her new combination dialed in and lost to Mike in the semis. Dunham Hall did the “B” class proud making it to the semi’s, losing to Shaquille. Thanks to Anna White for her help in promoting this race for the kids.

In Super Pro it was Carl Drake Jr. taking the win in his Chevy powered dragster defeating a red lighting Gene Stankivitz who was in his ’67 Nova. Brett Van Brocklin was the semifinalist in his dragster.

The Pro final was also decided by a foul start and Rob Forbes was the benefactor driving his proven ’93 S-10. Don Austin in his ’79 Firebird just missed the tree with his .499 red light and had to settle for the runner up spot. Mike LaRose was the semifinalist.

Dan Cerio nailed down the Pro Bike win riding his ’05 GSXR around David Ashby who was on his ’93 Kawasaki. Dan held the r.t. advantage .562 to .630 and he ran 9.988 at 126.69 mph on his 9.90 dial while Dave ran further under with a 14.110 at 88.56 mph run on his 14.14 dial in. Cory Bingel and Jim Collins were the semifinalists.

In Pro Sled, it was Kevin Wuest on his ’01 Polaris taking the win stopping Heath Smith who was on his ’03 Polaris. Kevin had a great .517 light and ran 10.139 at 122.58 mph on his 10.05 dial. Heath had a .587 light and ran 9.900 at 126.09 mph on his 9.80 dial for the runner up spot. Tom Roberts and Dan Eddy were the semifinalists.

Randy Reader won the Street Money class driving his ’88 Ranger to a .657 initiated 12.585 at 106.89 mph run on his 12.54 dial. Adam Carlson driving his Valiant settled for the runner up spot with a .612 light and running 11.702 at 112.59 mph on his 11.61 dial. Former Jr. Dragster ace Matt Bunal made a strong showing today putting his ’91 Camaro into the semis.

Myles Higby nailed down the Modified win driving his ’96 Avenger past April Martin who was in her ’76 Dodge. April held a sizeable r.t. advantage .508 to .581 but she ran under her 10.99 dial with a 10.975 at 121.60 mph allowing Myles to win with his 10.185 at 131.18 mph run on his 10.15 dial in. Brett Van Brocklin was the semifinalist.

Todd Minerd won Street Trophy wheeling his ’85 S-10 to final round defeat of Ted Daggett who was driving his ’05 Nissan. Todd had a .560 light and ran 15.508 at 82.40 mph on his 15.45 dial while Ted ran 14.240 at 98.28 mph on his 14.12 dial for the runner up spot. Ted’s r.t. was .648. Bud Brown and Wade Willatt were the semifinalists.

David Ashby won the Bike / Sled Combo class today stopping Herb Bingel III in the final round. Herb held the r.t. advantage .573 to .631 but he ran an off pace 11.231 at 107.08 mph on his 11.10 dial. David won with his 14.167 at 88.42 mph run on his 14.12 dial. Shawn Fetter and Bill Gedney was the semifinalist.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures