It's Logalbo Over Sadowski for Pro Showdown Cash -- Zangari Rolls to Fourth Street Money Win

After a mostly rainy week we had a perfect sunny day for racing today when we hosted the F.X. Caprara Trailer Sales Pro Showdown. Here are the results.

In the Pro Showdown which had $1000 going to the winner, it was crafty veteran Frank LoGalbo driving his ’69 Nova past “Iceman” Eric Sadowski in his ’70 Challenger. Frank held a slight reaction time advantage. 580 to .594 and he won the double breakout affair with a 10.241 at 129.62 mph run on his 10.26 dial while Eric ran further under his 11.04 dial with a 10.991 at 122.86 mph runner up effort. Howard Roberts was the semifinalist in his ’72 Plymouth. As a side note both Eric and Howards cars have Competition Wedge racing engines.

In Super Pro it was Scott Forbes snaring another win in his proven ’94 S-10 pickup. Scott used a .528 light and ran 10.332 at 129.23 mph on his 10.29 dial to stop James Smith Jr. James who was in his Big Block Chevy powered dragster was right there with his .531 light, but he just barely ran under his 7.64 dial in with a 7.635 at 165.26 mph pass and had to settle for the runner up spot. Josh Speck made it to the semi’s clicking off consistent 9.90’s without a single time trial after he returned from the Div. 1 point’s race being held at Lebanon Valley.

Keith Miller won the Pro Bike cash today on his ’92 Suzuki when he defeated Cory Bingel on his ’04 Suzuki. Cory had the r.t. advantage .513 to .585, but he fell off his 8.74 dial in with an 8.922 at 149.47 mph run while Keith ran 10.085 at 127.08 mph on his 10.02 dial for the win. David Wilcox was the semifinalist on his ’89 Kawasaki.

Heath Smith won Pro Sled today on his familiar ’03 Polaris, stopping Dennis Boston on his ’03 Ski-Doo. Heath had a big r.t. advantage .514 to .601 and he parlayed that into the win with a 9.878 at 122.70 run on his 9.88 dial while Dennis ran further under his 9.82 dial with a 9.778 at 129.99 mph runner up effort. Chrissy Klein and Dan Eddy Jr. were the semifinalists.

In Street Money if you are going to win you are going to have to deal with Anthony Zangari who has been dominating the class this year in his ’99 Z/28 Camaro. Anthony disposed of Theodore Lewis in the final this week with an 11.871 at 111.11 mph run on his 11.85 dial. Theodore ran right on his 14.74 dial with a 14.741 at 91.47 mph but his .600 light could not match Anthony’s .551reaction. Todd Minerd was the semifinalist.

Terry Scheirer drove his Chevy powered dragster to the win in Modified defeating Tim Aceto who was in his ’86 Camaro. Terry put together a great final round package with a .511 light and running 9.017 at 146.61 mph run on his 9.00 dial in. Tim had a decent run as well with a .538 light and running 11.135 at 122.69 mph on his 11.06 dial. Rich Duffer was the semifinalist.

Tom Fortino drove his ’87 Mustang to the Street Trophy win by defeating Carl Askenback who was driving his ’55 Chevy. Tom drilled his 13.67 dial with a 13.676 at 98.70 mph winning run, his r.t. was .599. Carl had a .582 light and ran 12.551 at 108.43 mph on his 12.48 dial for the runner up spot. Todd Minerd made his second semifinal appearance of the day in his ’85 S-10.

Bike / Sled Combo was won by Shawn Fetter who defeated Herb Bingel III in the final round. Shawn held a .552 to .621 starting line advantage and won it with a 10.425 at 115.69 mph run on his 10.38 dial while Herb settled for the runner up spot with a 11.128 at 110.56 mph run on his 11.14 dial. David Ashby and Gene Stankivitz were the semifinalists.

In a special ATV race that was put together by Mike Phelps and the guys and The F.X. Caprara Outdoor Toy Store, it was Mike Phelps himself scoring the win by defeating Jared Relyea. Both reaction times were not good but Mike got the nod with his .846 to Jared’s 1.15, and a Mike secured the win with a 10.190 at 65.19 mph run on his 9.60 dial in while Jared runner upped with a 10.463 at 60.49 mph run on his 10.50 dial. James Liebi and Heath Smith were the semifinalists.

In Jr. Dragster “A” it was Carter Helch stopping the always tough Mike Reynolds in the final round. Both drivers were dialed in at 7.90 and Mike actually held a reaction time advantage .521 to .545, but at the stripe it was Carter taking the double breakout win with a less offensive 7.889 at 83.01 mph to defeat Mike’s 7.879 at 82.55 mph runner up pass. Amanada White made it to the semis in her Jr. Hot Rod.

While brother Mike could not nail down the in Jr. “A”, Kyle Reynolds got the job done in Jr. Dragster “B” when he defeated Jacob Snyder in the final. Kyle had a .553 light and ran 9.103 at 70.21 mph on his 9.00 dial. Jacob went red with a very close .498 bulb and wasted his 8.965 at 73.52 mph run on his 8.92 dial. Jenna Lipke and Tyler BeDell were the semifinalists.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures