Smith Scores Pro Sled Trifecta -- Zangari and Ashby Repeat Wins

The racers were dealt another tough hand today as racing conditions were brutal, with high winds and cool temps which made us compete once again in the 1/8 mile format. Here are the results from today’s action.

In the special Camaro, Mustang, Firebird (CMF) eliminator it was Bob Coutu driving his borrowed ’01 Camaro to the win by defeating Terry Lee who was wheeling his Chevy powered ’89 Mustang. It looked like Terry would take the title when he got off the line first with a .644 to .656 reaction time advantage, but it was Bob running closer to the dial with his 9.995 at 69.56 mph run on his 9.94 dial while Terry settled for the runner up spot with a 6.857 at 90.38 mph run on his 6.78 dial in. Tom Fortino was the semifinalist in his ’07 Mustang. A special thanks to Dick Aversa and Bob Belvick for their help with this race.

Super Pro saw Carl Drake grab the win driving his dragster around final round opponent Iggy Falcone who was in his ’65 GTO. Carl won with a .526 initiated 4.887 at 139.34 mph run on his 4.87 dial while Iggy had to settle for the runner up spot with his .579 initiated 6.258 at 107.89 mph run on his 6.24 dial. Steve Doss was the semifinalist in his ’85 Monte Carlo.


In Pro, Mike Parker drove his ’84 Camaro to the mild upset win when he stopped Howard Roberts in the final round. Mike took the starting line advantage with a .558 to .598 and held on for the win with a 7.201 at 93.95 mph run on his 7.22 dial while Howard settled for the runner up spot with a 6.019 at 113.37 mph run on his 6.04 dial in. Chris Forbes was the semifinalist in his ’95 Monte Carlo.

Pro Bike action saw David Ashby score his second win on his ’93 Kawasaki when he defeated a red lighting Nick Cerio who was on his ’09 Suzuki. David won it with an 8.583 at 75.60 mph while Nick ran 7.085 at 108.47 mph for the runner up. Nick Teitsma and Jason Longley both on Suzuki’s were the semifinalists.

Ron Smith scored his third-straight Pro Sled win today on his ’01 Arctic Cat when he was the benefactor of a Sudsy Eastman red light. This would have been a very close final if not for the red light as Sudsy nailed his 6.29 dial with a 6.290 at 107.20 mph and Ron ran a 5.930 at 115.64 mph on his 5.92 dial in. Sudsy had a .475 bulb to Ron’s .581. Past points champ Kevin Wuest was the semifinalist.

Anthony Zangari has not finished any worse than the semi’s in Street Money this year and today he continued his dominance as he wheeled his ’99 Z/28 to his third win of the season. His final round opponent Clarence Spadey in his ’02 Honda had the reaction time advantage .518 to .584, but he could not hold off Anthony as his 10.191 at 61.53 mph run on his 10.10 dial fell short to Anthony’s 7.391 at 92.39 mph run on his 7.38 dial. Travis Brown and Paul Meeks were the semifinalists.

In Modified Darin Buchanan drove his ’67 Plymouth to the win with a .539 initiated 5.813 at 117.81 mph run on his 5.80 dial in to defeat Don Austin who was driving his ’79 Pontiac. Don had a .629 light and ran under his 7.45 dial with a 7.419 at 91.43 mph. Kim Rogge was the semifinalist.

Wade Willatt took home the win in Street Trophy driving his ’02 Mazda to the title defeating Liz West in her ’00 Corvette. Wade had a huge reaction advantage .583 to .967 and cruised to a 12.030 at 49.55 mph on his 11.87 dial for the win while Liz runner upped with a 7.727 at 96.98 run on her 7.75 dial. Carl Scarano and Bryce Arbes were the semifinalists.

Bike/Sled Combo was won by Nick Teitsma on his ’02 Suzuki. Nick used a .583 reaction and ran a 6.267 at 117.81 mph on his 6.20 dial to stop Herb Bingel III who was on his ’98 Ski-doo. Herb missed the tree with his .700 light and ran under his 6.98 dial in with a 6.820 at 91.82 mph runner up effort. Rick Fies was the semifinalist.

Canadian Michael Reynolds made his presence felt today in the Jr. Dragster “A” class when he stopped the red hot rookie sensation Ryan Pedersen in the final round. Michael held the reaction advantage .538 to .605 to win his second race of the season with an 8.041 at 81.80 mph run on his 8.05 dial. Ryan ran further under with an 8.036 at 82.25 mph on his 8.11 dial in. Morgan Bunal and Justin Hardman were the semifinalists.

Jr. Dragster “B” was an all Snyder affair as brothers Joshua and Jacob battled for the bragging rights. Jacob had a stellar .508 light and ran a 9.079 at 72.71 mph to easily cover Joshua’s .674 initiated, 9.146 at 71.63 mph runner up effort. Joshua’s dial was 9.03. Jake Lipke was the semifinalist.

That will do it for this week. Thanks to everyone for their patience with the track drying effort and hopefully we are done with these 30 mph wind racing days. See you next week.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures