Ron Smith Repeats Pro Sled Win -- Piston & LaRose Score Super and Pro Wins

We had a decent turnout today for our scheduled National Part Peddler point’s series event as well as the PT Cruiser / Mopar Showdown. Here is the recap:

In Super Pro, it was Christopher Piston scoring the win driving his small block Chevy powered dragster to the final round victory over Billy Caprara who was in his big block Chevy powered dragster. Chris, who bought back in after his first round loss drove well the rest of the afternoon and capped it off with a .528 initiated dial in matching 8.738 at 148.94 mph run to stop Billy’s .552 initiated 8.111 at 163.49 mph run on his 8.08 dial in. Frank Barbagallo in his ’94 Lumina made it to the semis for the second week in a row.

Mike LaRose won the Pro class today driving his ’68 Plymouth, defeating James DeGarmo who was driving his ’88 Ranger pickup. Mike held a huge reaction time advantage .523 to .644 and he cruised to the win with a 10.456 at 117.54 mph run on his 10.36 dial while James had to settle for the runner up spot with his 11.477 at 113.89 mph run on his 11.45 dial. Rob Forbes was the semifinalist in his ’93 S-10.

David Ashby rode his revamped ’93 Kawasaki to the Pro Bike win when Keith Miller lit the red bulb on his ’92 Suzuki. Dave got away with a .685 light and ran 14.036 at 87.23 mph run on his 14.05 dial for the win while Keith had .477 bulb and ran 10.238 at 125.97 mph run on his 10.30 dial. Defending points champ Cory Bingel was the semifinalist on his ’04 Suzuki.

In a battle of past Points champs, Ron Smith scored the Pro Sled win for the second straight week when he rode his ’01 Arctic Cat to the win over Kevin Wuest who was on his ’01 Polaris. Ron had a great .512 light and ran 9.491 at 126.36 mph on his 9.47 dial to defeat Kevin’s .582 initiated 10.065 at 127.15 mph run on his 10.08 dial. Heath Smith was the semifinalist on his ’03 Polaris.

In Street Money, Anthony Zangari won his second race of the season when he drove his ’99 Z/28 to the win over Michael Wilson in his ’93 Firebird. Both drivers had subpar lights with Michael holding the slight edge .624 to .642, but it was Anthony nailing his 11.79 dial with an 11.798 at 113.16 mph to stop Michaels right there 12.132 at 101.13 mph run on his 12.10 dial. Todd Minerd in his ’85 S-10 and Anthony Rotolo in his ’72 Nova were the semifinalists.

Steve Searles drove his “Bitts-N-Pieces” Chevy powered ’86 Mustang to the win in Modified when he stopped Fausto Rioscolon in his “Sponge Bob” ’71 ‘Cuda. Steve had a .571 r.t. and ran a perfect 13.1700 at 98.92 mph run on his 13.17 dial for the well deserved win. Fausto had a .580 light and ran 9.914 at 132.76 mph run on his 9.87 dial for the runner up spot. Chuck White was the semifinalist in his newly acquired S-10 pick up.

Mod semifinalist Todd Minerd took the win in Street Trophy action defeating Dick Aversa who was driving his ’07 SS Trail Blazer. Todd had a .642 light and ran 15.414 at 83.96 mph on his 15.43 dial for the win. Dick fouled with a .440 red and ran 13.684 at 100.05 mph on his 13.69 dial for the runner up effort. Kim Rossitter was the semifinalist.

Pro Sled runner up Kevin Wuest won in Bike / Sled Combo action stopping Darrell Aubin who was on his ’78 Yamaha motorcycle. Kevin had a large r.t. advantage .512 to .819 and won it with a 10.241 at 110.82 mph run on his 10.08 dial in. Darrell ran 12.528 at 102.55 mph on his 12.57 dial in for the runner up spot. Dan Eddy Jr. and John Mahay were the semifinalists.

It looks like rookie Jr. dragster “A” pilot Ryan Pedersen is going to make the season awful difficult on the rest of the competitors this year as he was able to secure his first win in only his fourth race ever and I believe sit atop the points standings as well. Ryan stopped past champ Nicole Woodcock in the final when she fouled away her chance for the win. Ryan had a conservative .643 light and ran 7.992 at 81.22 mph for the win while “Coley” had a .473 red and ran 7.870 at 81.94 mph on her 7.90 dial for the runner up effort. Shaquille Scott was the semifinalist.

Tyler BeDell captured his second Jr. “B” win of the season when he stopped Dunham Hall in the final round. Tyler drilled the tree with a .516 and ran 9.093 at 69.11 mph on his 9.00 dial to defeat Dunham who had a .637 light and runner upped with a 9.252 at 70.50 mph run on his 9.12 dial. Jake Lipke was the semifinalist.

Finally we also had a special PT Cruiser / Mopar Showdown race today as the clubs put on a great show. In the final round it was Jason Mulder in his ’03 Chrysler defeating Linda Blodgett in her ’06 PT Cruiser to take home the winners trophy and the bragging rights that go along with it. Steve Kowalski was the semifinalist in his ’07 Super Bee. A special thanks to Maurice Tucker for his help in making this event possible.

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures