2008 Champions - front row; Dick Aversa (Street Trophy), Eddie Reilly (Pro & Mod), Kevin Wuest (Pro Sled), Joshua Snyder (Jr. Dragster "B"), Back Row: Scott Forbes (Super Pro), Jason Richardson (Street Money), Herb Bingel (Pro Sled & Bike/Sled), Robbie LaPointe (Jr. Dragster "A").

We gathered at the Empire Room to honor the 2008 ESTA National Parts Peddler E.T. Series points champions, as well as the Special Award winners. The racers split up over $15,000 in prize money, as well as some very nice custom engraved plaques to remember their accomplishments of this season. Here is a brief recap of the evening’s award winners.

Track announcer Gary Simons started out the evening by announcing the Special Awards winners.
Here is the list of the 2008 Special Award recipients.
Jr. Dragster Awards
Rookie of the Year: Carter Helch
Most Improved: Joshua Snyder
Best Appearing: Dunham Hall

Big Car / Bike Awards
Most Improved: Joey LaRose
Mr. Bracket Racer: Eddie Reilly
Rookie of the Year: Jessica DeSiato
Best Appearing: Skip Tamburino
Sportsmanship: Tom Samsel
Special Service: Jeff Parker
Best Engineered: Scott Forbes

After the special awards were presented we got down to distributing the points payouts and awards which were partially sponsored by The National Parts Peddler. Here is a brief rundown of the point’s champs.

Super Pro was won by Scott Forbes with Vince Musolino 2nd and Chris Piston 3rd.

Pro was won by Eddie Reilly with Mike LaRose second and Rob Forbes third.

Pro Bike saw Cory Bingel capture his second straight season title with David Ashby second and Cliff Cronk and Anthony McKeen Sr. tied for third.

Pro Sled ended in a tie between Herb Bingel and Kevin Wuest with Mike Stiles finishing in the third spot.

Jason Richardson won Street Money with Ryan Beckwith second and Terry Lee Sr. third.

Eddie Reilly captured his second season title of the evening as the Modified champ with Steve Searles second and Myles Higby third.

Herb Bingel picked up his second season title with the Bike/Sled Combo trophy with David Ashby second and Kevin Wuest third.

Dick Aversa won the Street Trophy title with Todd Minerd second and Diane Blaylock third.

The Jr. Dragster top 10 all got various Savings Bonds that were donated by Duke & Mabel Risley and Rolland & Mary Schmidt.

Robbie LaPointe nailed down his first Jr. Dragster “A” season title in his last year of Jr. racing driving his ’04 entry to the title over second place finisher Matt Bunal. Morgan Bunal finished third.

Joshua Snyder won the Jr. Dragster “B” title in a close battle with Jake Lipke who finished second and Alexa Pedersen and Jacob Snyder tied for third.

That is a brief summary of the banquet, I want to thank all of our sponsors for all of their support throughout the year. A special thanks to those of you that came out and helped us both times with our guardrail projects. I also want to thank everyone that came out and supported the track despite the high price of fuel throughout the summer. Have a safe off season, enjoy the holidays and we’ll see you next season.

- Pete DeSalvo Jr.



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures